We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food but nice setting”
Review of Alongside

Alongside
Ranked #19 of 58 Restaurants in Paihia
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Alongside is an exciting social space situated over the water in the stunning bay of islands. There is no place quite like it in Northland and we are proud to be different! While there is an overall laid back, casual feel to the huge decked area, its style and touch of class makes it the perfect place to get together with friends and family for a relaxed bite to eat and a drink to cool down in the beautiful winterless North. Take in the breath taking views, relax on some of our comfy loungers and soak in the great community feel that Paihia has on offer. We offer all day casual dining . Our menu is designed for sharing - small plates and boards boasting local seafood and fresh produce. Choose a drink to match from our extensive drinks list boasting a wide range of exciting wines to speciality rums and mouth-watering cocktails.
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Lovely setting but food pricey and not a lot of variety. We had the seafood board which was meant to have oysters but they had run out (everywhere else in paihia had them though).

Thank Vicroynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi - we apologise that we did not have oysters when you visited. We get our oysters fresh from Orongo Bay in Russell and has run out over the busy Easter holidays - we don't buy them in frozen from any where else. We hope you enjoyed your time in Paihia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
There are newer reviews for Alongside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

675 - 679 of 788 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014

The place to be in Paihia with a beautiful aspect located on a deck over the water with lovely outdoor furniture and sometimes live music. It's cosy and fun. The service is good, but sometimes a bit slow (they're very busy though, and it's not a big place, so you have to adjust your expectations).

I had two suggestions.

First, they've obviously got a beer deal with DB (or whoever they are now) so they only have a limited range of tap and bottled beers. They desperately need a better range and to have some craft beers available given current trends.

Second, the food wasn't that great. I had sliders which were burned, meatballs which were dry, and crispy fish which was just fish and chips. They could lift their game here.

It's a fun place to be, with beautiful views and atmosphere, but the food and drink could use a boost.

Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi there - thank you for taking the time to write your review. The deck is quite a large area with the capacity for 200 seated and many more drinking - we feel that this is quite big, especially when tables are turning around frequently on a busy day. We do not have a 'beer deal' however we appreciate your feedback regarding the craft beers and are looking into this - we do stock the boutique 'Black Dog' brewery inside at 35 Degrees South and it is a trend we are aware of. We have passed your feedback on the food to the kitchen team who are currently in the process of updating the menu after collating feedback from the season. We hope you had a great time in Paihia, kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Loved the location and the food for the most part. It's right on the waterfront and you get a nice dose of sun while eating there. Over-priced and service was bad though. Panzenello salad was great!

Thank scb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi - thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the service but as we have told other reviewers, this is something that we are working on with all front of house staff - if you would like to email us to elaborate please feel free info@35south.co.nz. Great to hear you enjoyed the panzanella made with fresh Northland ingredients! Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visited Easter Friday for a bite and a drink, (licensing rules restrict patrons who wish to enjoy a drink to having food as well on Good Friday). It was sunny with a fresh onshore breeze blowing, but we found a sheltered spot to relax in. Our waitress was attentive and friendly and very soon we had been served our drinks followed shortly after with a lovely tapas plate, with a side of healthy fries to partner them. It was busy but the waiting team seemed to cope well. We asked what plans they had to deal with wet weather and our waitress commented that she had been expecting a cover to be installed, but there was no sight of this at Easter. Could be tricky getting a dry spot in the rain. The location is fantastic, just what is needed on the waterfront. We enjoyed the tapas and wine. Price was reasonable we felt given the stunning setting, lovely comfy cane furniture and substantial sun umbrella offering us shade. Just one comment/recommendation. The laminated ticket with printed number on it wanted to fly away in the fresh breeze. How about including a small block of wood painted white with a slot cut in it to slide the card into to stop it flying off? Otherwise, just keep up the good work.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Dominic - thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience on the deck. We are indeed awaiting a canopy for outside which will insure all weather dining. Thank you for the feedback with the tab cards, now that the season has came to a close we are reviewing issues like this for next summer so will be sure to pass your idea on! We hope to see you again at Alongside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Staff seemed a little lost however they were friendly. We were told there'd be about 20min wait for food however didn't get anything for about 45min. Food was nice but not wow. Well in need of new speakers!!!

Thank HappyChickNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
35DegreesSouth, Manager at Alongside, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi there - thank you for your review. We apologise that your wait time was much longer than what the staff informed you of - we try to keep communication between the kitchen and the floor staff especially on these issues so that customers have forewarning. Easter was exceptionally busy for us and with it being our first since the business opened, we have a lot of feedback to work on and improve for next year. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alongside also viewed

 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Alongside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing