We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this hotel , excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The hotel was excellent. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. I had a problem with a tour I had booked over the internet prior to coming and they sorted the problem out with the tour company themselves.Was very appreciated.The place is nicely located close to all facilities. The rooms are lovely and very roomy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 621 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed at the Scenic Hotel for 3 nights at the end of December and we were suitably impressed with our room & the helpful Reception staff. We had a room on the second level which overlooked a pretty garden courtyard. It was a bit of a struggle getting 70kgs of luggage from the carpark to our room as there are no lifts and 2 flights of stairs to navigate. There are porters available though if you need assistance with luggage during check in and check out.
Our room was very clean & comfortable and was a welcome relief at the end of hot, busy days. There is also a guest laundry so that you can catch up on your washing if you need to. Guest internet service (which is way too exposed to others) is available in the Reception area - could really do with some screens for privacy.
Dinner at the Restaurant was quite good and there appeared to be many young international wait staff that were friendly enough but not exceptional in their service levels(some were on back to back shifts so this may explain their moods).The breakfast was also a bit "average" for the price compared to other hotels that we stayed in during our New Zealand holiday.
From the road the Scenic Hotel doesn't really look like much at all but once inside the main house and the rooms you will be pleasantly surprised. From an aesthetic point of view I think the grounds could be vastly improved with more gardens and trees and the pool area would certainly benefit from an upgrade and extension.
Overall a very clean and comfortable Hotel perfect as a base for exploring the islands and local townships. If you can do the Bay of Islands cruise you will not be disappointed - truely spectacular.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed in a deluxe room and it was large, very clean and very comfortable. I walked into the centre of Paihia in 5-10 minutes depending on how fast you want to walk and the walk takes you past restaurants and beach the whole way - so very enjoyable. Not your usual motel as parking was not directly outside the room. Very good TV, kitchen facilities and great bathroom. The bed was as comfortable as any five star hotel I have stayed in. I would highly recommend a deluxe room.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank vickilovesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, were were in block 200. I found the receptionist (Corrine) particularly outstanding in her customer service, very friendly and helpful. We had a park right outside our room. The room was really nice, the beds are hugh (must be super king) plently of space in it. The bathroom was nice and had a really big shower however the water pressure was not that great and the tap was very hard to turn on in the hand- basin however great amenities come with it like the little shampoos and conditioners etc. There was a tv on the wall (1 movie sky channel and a sports channel - i would have preferred C.I or something over those 2 channels). There were drinks in the fridge however you have to pay for these if you consume them. Its only a short walk to the main shops as well. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here, the room was clean and tidy and was serviced the next day while we were out and about, i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jada_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights through a good package that included welcome drinks, later check out and breakfast buffet. Check in was fast and efficient. They recommended their sea food dinner buffet as we arrived later in the evening, so we decided to try it at $30 p.p. It was alright, nothing spectacular but nice enough. The price also included a glass of wine. The rooms were a bit small although nice enough with simple furnitures (two arm chairs, a nice king size bed, LCD TV, work desk. There was no air conditioning although a heater on the wall was provided. There seems to be an island theme going on especially in the flavour of the furniture and decor. The bathrooms are pretty standard with nice amneties. Overall, rooms were adequate but certainly lacked the feel of any luxury or finesse. We just came from the Hilton in Auckland so it probably did affect our view of the rooms. The breakfast was good though with the standard srambled eggs, sausages, pastries, cereals, hash browns, etc etc and the staff were generally excellent at making you feel welcomed. Tour groups seems to frequent this place often but does not detract from the experience. Oh and if you're driving, you can literally park your car in front of your room. Overall, a good place to spend a few nights in Paihia and is a good base to explore the Bay of Islands and pretty good value too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Great Hotel, we stayed in a deluxe queen which has 2 queen size beds, huge room, kitchenette and large bathroom. With a balcony.

Hotel is well run and in a great location with parking.

Amazing breakfast in the hotel.

Outdoor pool.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bash69Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed for two nights in mid-September. The fact that the hotel is clearly geared to take large tour groups meant that the reception staff were quick and effiicient and the buffet breakfast generous with plenty of choice. An easy walk to restaurants and only 10 minutes on foot to the ferry to Russell. Good value in modern rooms.

Marxina

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank marxina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $147 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing