We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We took the Winter Special - Two night upgrade to a Deluxe Room with a full breakfast each morning - this was very good value. The room was modern, clean and comfortable with a pleasant view of well kept gardens. There was a good selection of tea and coffee in the room along with some lovely bath/body products, a little bag for you to take the unused items home in was a lovely touch. The breakfast was also very good and offered a large selection.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient at all times.
We did however miss having a spa, there is only an outdoor swimming pool - great for the summer but not ideal during the cooler months. Also the car parking was quite a distance form our room and as there was no allocated space we found it difficult to find a park on a couple occasions.
We enjoyed our stay and would be keen to return in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room with nearby parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirlNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. The Winter Special Package is great value for money and many guests have taken the option to book it. The staff at the hotel are a major asset and we are very proud of them. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    225
    68
    10
    3
See reviews for
91
305
27
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
Level Contributor
523 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights towards the end of our holiday. It is a lovely modern hotel with spacious, comfortable rooms. It doesn't have a sea view but our room looked out onto a pleasant garden area. It is an easy, short walk into the main part of Pahia. The hotel booked a Fullers dolphin boat trip for us and secured a discount which was a nice surprise.
Breakfast was very good and had a good selection. Staff were all very pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We had a lovely stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands this weekend. Staff were polite, friendly, and efficient, and we were pleasantly surprised that we had been automatically upgraded to a superior room! We also really appreciated the discounted cooked breakfast coupon, as otherwise we wouldn't have had breakfast at the hotel (which was delicious by the way).

The room was spacious and very clean, as was the bathroom. Having a bath was a nice treat.

Location is excellent, not right in the middle of town, but close enough to walk if the weather is nice.

This was my second time staying here, and I will definitely be back.

Cheers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liamjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest.Thank you for taking the time to place your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Great location, very comfortable hotel/motel to stay at. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Easy walking distance from the centre of town.Wifi for 1hour free is a bit mean. Other hotels offer free Wifi for the total stay. TV with only a few channels is poor also when other smaller hotels close by offer 50+ channels.

Room Tip: Very competitive rates, deluxe room was very comfortable, good breakfast as part of the package was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to place your review. As you state the hotel is ideally located close to town, and is only a short drive to Waitangi. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised by our room - really nice and clean. Two queen beds. Separate bath and shower (with good water pressure and lovely big towels). Beds were comfy. 4 of us in the room (two under 8) and it was a good size. When we pulled up to the hotel i thought it looked dated from the outside but our room was great. Slightly out of town (walking distance). 1 hour free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishfish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for placing comments on Tripadvisor. The housekeeping department pride themselves on meeting or bettering guest expectations and it is pleasing that they have achieved this with you. It is a short stroll into the centre of town as you state. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Scenic Hotel supported the Bay of Islands Country Rock Festival this year. That support included providing accommodation for musicians. We were one of the lucky couples who got to stay at Scenic Hotel during this time. The rooms were great - clean, comfortable and spacious. I can't fault anything! We enjoyed our time and appreciate the Hotel's generosity.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HinemoaHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor. As you stated, the Scenic Hotel is back as a venue for the Country Rock Festival. We enjoy hosting these events and look forward to being part of the Jazz and Blues Festival in August. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

Hotel arranged through our tour. Was clean, comfortable, and food was reasonable. Hotel is close to town. Complimentary Wi-Fi was adequate for the one hour. Staff were very helpful and restaurant was quite nice. Would use again if in that area

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FRED B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As you state the hotel is located close to town and is only a short drive to Waitangi. We look forward to hosting you again some day. Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing