We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

My daughter and I did the Bay of Islands Explorer package, fantastic value for money and an absolutely awesome experience. Thais on the front desk was incredibly helpful prior to our arrival and all the staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Rooms were above average and very comfortable. Would certainly recommend this package, and would do it again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    250
    76
    12
    3
See reviews for
99
338
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandi Gobindgarh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We were on our Honeymoon in NZ and stayed at Bay of Islands for 3 days...a beautiful city....a decent hotel but quite expensive. The first shocking experience was the hotel's standard rooms are non air-conditioned ... If you want an air-conditioned room and are visiting in summers, you need to pay for room upgrade of 70 bucks per night...The hotel does not have a double bedroom set...n neither do they combine the beds if required...although the rooms were clean n so were the bathrooms with all the basic natural Amenities Products of NZ....Our ground floor room opened out onto a paved area with a fairly grassy and rainforest outlook.... Some rooms are very far away from the Hotel Reception and Main Lobby n Cafe area for the breakfast.... The breakfast was not up to standards with very limited options.... The food quality was worst ever had.....The staff was very friendly and courteous....Especially Sid.....Nice and helpful guy with lots of Enthusiasm and courage to serve his best....The hotel is located just a short walk away from the centre of the town...The harbour is very nearby,just 6-7 mins lovely walk along the Beach from the hotel.. Many multi cuisine restaurants are within a short walk along the harbour.... Variety of boat ride options at the harbor including ferry across to Russell Island, A small and peaceful island and for the lovely attraction "The hole in the Rock"... One can go for Dolphin trips for seeing and Swim with the Friendly Dolphins.... Lastly, i should say one can relax and enjoy in the Peaceful Paihia..... About the hotel experience, overall it was average....

Room Tip: Book for an Airconditioned room.... The Hotels Standard Rooms are Non Airconditioned...If booked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank varunbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for placing you comments on Tripadvisor. As you state the hotel is located a short walk from the centre of town. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
171 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

The rooms are spacious, well appointed, and clean. My wife and I found the breakfast and dinner buffets were well done, well prepared, with a good variety of choices. It is located a short walk from the center of town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whiskersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest, We are glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Spent a couple of nights here around the time of Cyclone Lucy, so no chance to use the swimming pool! Nice clean, comfortable accommodation with lovely bathroom and plenty of complimentary products. Guests even encouraged to take remaining products for use at home, for which a bag was provided! Our ground floor room opened out onto a paved patio area - nice for relaxing over a cuppa onto a fairly grassy open outlook and our own parking space right outside the front door. A guest laundry is on site and staff are all very helpful. A good choice of breakfasts are taken in a nice peaceful buffet area, which also doubles up for special meal deals in the evening.. There is also a separate 'a la carte' area where we had a very reasonably priced fish meal, which turned out to be one of the best! A flat 5 minute walk into town where most things including a Post Office can be found with a few varied restaurants for lunch and evening meals. The beach runs right along the front of town where you can catch a ferry to Russell - a short 10 minute trip. Russell was once the capital and is now a lovely quaint seaside resort, well worth the trip. Dolphin trips are also available, but sadly on this occasion the weather was too rough. Overall, a good experience, just a shame about the weather.

Room Tip: Double storey blocks are all staggered to reduce noise from neighbours. Upstairs rooms have steps t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeepersP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff are proud to work for the Scenic Hotel Group and appreciate people like yourself who acknowledge their efforts. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
250 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

OK so here is the bottom line. Rooms are adequate and comfortable but the bath is small. Nice little lobby bar. Buffet breakfast is adequate. Dinner was a pleasant surprise - good food and attentive service. Easy 2 min walk to the water and 10 min walk to the harbor. Many restaurants within a short walk. Variety of boat ride options at the harbor including ferry across to Russell.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rvstraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest,Thank you for making time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the food and service while dining in our restaurant. As you state it is only a short walk to the centre of town. Kind Regards Ross GM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed one night on a whirlwind trip to cape reianga. Seemed like one of the better value around town. Nicely kept rooms. Short stroll to the waterfront and bar/restaurant strip. Was full of tourist on chartered tours.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are only a short stroll to the centre of town. Kind Regards Ross. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great hotel. Lovely staff. Our room was very clean and well stocked with all the essentials. We stayed two nights on the weekend and noticed there was a wedding reception being held on the Saturday evening and expected it to be very noisy but we never heard a sound. Location good. A short, flat walk to the centre but, fortunately, the weather was great so this was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us. The large area of the hotel allows us to host weddings etc and not intrude on the experience of other guests staying with us. Located close to town is always a good aspect for guests. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing