We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Handy to Town Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Handy to Town Centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Very tidy hotel in close walking distance to town and wharf area where all the boats depart. Staff very friendly and obliging. Rooms very clean and serviced daily. Parking is a bit limited but not really a problem. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantTaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. As you state, the hotel is a short distance from the centre of town and is only a couple of minutes drive to Waitangi. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Ross.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    253
    77
    12
    4
See reviews for
101
344
27
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Good hotel, slightly out of town but easily walkable.Good beds and food. Can't really complain about anything. All meals have a good variety of food and rooms very clean and comfortable.Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your comments. We are proud of our hotel and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We spent two nights in this wonderful hotel. The staff at reception were welcoming and helpful. They explained all we needed to know clearly and helped with directions to the places we wanted to visit. The room staff were polite and efficient when going about their duties. Totally recommend this hotel for a relaxing quiet break.

Room Tip: We were on a ground floor and had no problems with noise. It was in a block a bit further away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest, That you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. Our staff work extremely hard to meet guest expectaions and it is always a pleasure to recieve positive comments like yours. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our second stop on our tour, and we stayed for 3 days. We wrongly thought that we were booking an apartment, with full facilities, rather than a room in a hotel, with less services, but we were very pleased with our stay there. It was very easy to find, only a short walk from the main attractions in Piahia, and had plenty of parking. The food in the hotel was good, and all the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. The chef is proud of his menu and it is pleasing to get positive comments like yours stating the good quality that is produced. As you state ,it is only a short stoll to the centre of town and it is only a couple of minutes drive to Waitangi.. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I emailed countless times before my stay, to ensure it was a good experience for my partner and I. Every single detail was attended to and passed on to the team. The lady that checked us in (blonde, can't remember her name) was probably one of the most attentive and helpful people I've experienced in the industry, and was a very helpful thing after 8 hours of travelling and frustration with a car hire man! Although the rooms were quite basic, they were comfortable, modern and clean. The housekeeping team were great, the hotel is a very short stroll to the centre of town and it's great value for money. Breakfast buffet was fine, like any other hotel buffet, could probably use some jujjing for wow factor. Happy hour drink special and 1 hour free internet access makes the experience really smooth and easy. I recommend the banana crepe on the restaurant's dessert menu - it's absolutely amazing! I would like to give a very special thank you to Thais, for her endless help with a very difficult guest - me! :) Her attention to detail made us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCoordinate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. Thais and her team at the front desk ,work tirelessly to meet guest expectation and it is pleasing to recieve comments like yours. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Too far to walk from town centre, takes around 25 mins, service was average and room outside was very shabby with no view at all. Room inside was better, and sleep was good.
Wouldnt stay here again...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post comments on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a good nights rest and the rooms were clean. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I recently stayed here as part of a "Birthday Trip" with Mum and could not speak more highly of it. It is only a short, easy walk to the centre of town - very handy as Mum struggles with distances. The Rooms were immaculate, very spacious and also lovely and quiet at night. We found the housekeeping staff especially friendly, considerate and helpful - nothing was a problem and they all seemed so happy and to really love what they do - this pride seems to come out in their work as the rooms were so clean and comfortable.
But the best experience was meeting a young guy at Reception - His name was Sid. As I was going to be away from home - and my boyfriend - on both Valentines Day and my Birthday - I was most upset to find I had packed the wrong phone charger on this trip! Extremely upset, I went to the reception desk desperate to find out where I could by one. I was informed there were no such shops nearby, and without a vehicle, shops in other areas was of no use to me. Sid got a box of charges from behind the desk (chargers other guests have left behind over time) and helped me sort through them to try and find one that would fit my Samsung. I must have checked every charge three times in desperate hope that I had missed one. But to no avail. Suddenly, Sid ran out of the reception, saying he would be back in a second. Seconds later, he returned from his car with what he told me was his spare charger (we had the same phone). He told me to check it to make sure it worked on my phone. I returned to my room where I quickly plugged it into my "dead" phone. The relief I felt when it worked was immediate. I ran back to tell Sid that it was charging, and asked if I could leave it charging til he finished work or if I could give it back the following day. Sid instantly told me to keep it. I couldnt believe it. He wanted nothing in return either- I offered to pay him but he would not hear of it. He made my day and saved me a lot of heartache in having to buy a new one.
I have travelled to many, many places around the world, and this experience would be the most memorable of any staff member I have ever encounted anywhere. I dont think Sid fully understood just how much I appreciated his generousity.
I have also worked as a Front Office Supervisor for many years, and I could only hope to have a staff member with such a great attitutude, and such a generous nature with outsanding customer service working for me. He is a real gentleman and a credit to your Hotel. I hope he is recognised for this.
I would definatley highly recommend this Hotel to anyone after an oustanding hotel experience. Thankyou and we hope to visit again some time in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for placing your lovely comments on Tripadvisor. Sid is a new addition to our Front Office team and we are proud of him and the attention he gives to all our guests. We put as large effort into training and it is good to see it working with your comments. Kind Regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing