We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked online via Trip Advisor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

And upgraded to a Deluxe room. Given it was peak season the pricing was great and the room absolutely superb. Dinner in the restaurant was lovely as it was our wedding anniversary there was even a card welcoming us on the day. My only comment would be to "lift" the wine list a little as it was a bit underdone. The meal was very well priced. Overall a lovely stay with great service.
My only complaint is the charge for paying by Credit Card. However, given the price and it was only 1.5% it was a minor glitch.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor. I will take into consideration your comments regarding the wine when I next do the wine list. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 621 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

The room was large and spacious, clean and the breakfasts were good value. Great poached eggs.
The safe was free and I foolishly left our passports, some money and credit cards behind which we did not discover until we reached rotorua- a 8-10 hour journey. Antionette handled the situation brilliantly and posted the items on to the Taupo hotel the next day. Really lovely and helpful staff and easily found on the way in to the town centre. Thoroughly recommended for a stay in the northern part of NZ.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank SteveRats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. It is always a pleasure to help a guest with a small problem. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

After spending a few day traveling around NZ and ending up at the hotel was a great change from the other hotels I have stayed at.

The staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome and the little things like each morning having a message under your door with the days weather forecast was great. It was just the little things that they did that your were not expecting was what made this the best hotel i stayed at.

The rooms were big for a family of four.

The restaurant has excellent food and was priced at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Go the upgrade to a bigger room for a few dollars more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russellandmyusername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and hotel. We are extremely proud to work at this property and comments like your's make it all worth while. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Room was huge and great bathroom. Great bathroom products too. Hotel was 5-10min stroll into town. Staff were friendly. Had breakfast one morning- we just had continental which was more than enough. Overall hotel was very reasonably priced and would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jjeennzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for making the effort to make comment on our hotel. We are proud of the effort our staff put in to meet your expectation. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Part of our tour with Titan took in this hotel/motel. Very nice comfortable room with all you need, for short or long stay. Restaurant very good too with friendly helpful staff. Also very well located 2 - 3 mins to beach - 10 - 15 minutes to centre of town and amenities

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandJSpalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel on Tripadvisor. As you stae ,the hotel is well placed for walks to town or the beach and is only a couple of minutes drive to Waitangi. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed for one night. Room was big, new bathrooms (very nice). Staff were very helpful re recommending tours to Cape Reinga, restaurant recommendations, etc. It is a short walk to the beach. We were never able to get the internet working, but it was too late to get the staff to help.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments, We are proud of our hotel and the staff go out of their way to help with promoting all the local attractions, including the closely located Waitangi Treaty Grounds. Kind Regards Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Scenic Hotel in the Bay of Islands is a lovely place to spend a few days at. We were there for New Years. It was convenient to all the Bay of Islands attractions, restaurants and shops. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was adequate and fair value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007Bernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rossbboi, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place comments on Tripadvisor. As you state ,the hotel is conviently placed to see the sights of Waitangi and the Bay of Islands. Kind Regards
Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
472 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $147 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing