We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Scenic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
napier
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at Scenic”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice place, good facilities, very clean, really nice staff, always to happy to help. Was suprised to not recieve crackling with my pork dish, and having no microwave in the room was not expected having asked for the delux room. Good place though, excellent breakfasts and again the staff were wounderfull

Room Tip: Delux rooms dont have views, also missing microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of Scenic Hotel Bay of islands after your recent stay.I consulted with the chef and passed on your comments on the crackling. He informed me that due to the nature of the dish crackling does not always form which is why we do not mention it on the menu - we trust the dish was otherwise to your liking. None of our rooms have microwaves and we do not advertise this facility on our website. We are pleased to see however that you found all other aspects of your stay to your satisfaction. Should you be back in the Bay of Islands we would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again. Regards Graeme Horsley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    259
    80
    12
    4
See reviews for
104
352
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orewa, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for the first time at Scenic Hotel Paihia, we stay in Paihia quite often and Scenic Hotel was the best by far and we will always stay there in the future. The room was spotless the staff friendly and helpful and everything was there that you might need, even an umbrella. The bed was sooooooo comfortable, the gardens and bird life where amazing and I cant wait to return..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are delighted that you took the opportunity to try our facilities and services and found them to your total satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Paihia. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have just stayed at The Scenic Hotel in Paihia again.
This hotel never disappoints. The rooms are spotless as are the bathrooms. Complimentary morning paper which comes with the days weather forecast from the hotel. The staff are always friendly and courteous. Where else would you find an umbrella in the wardrobe!

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the garden, nice and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review after your most recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands and thank you also for making us your preferred place to stay whilst in Paihia. We appreciate very much your return business and are glad you find all of our facilities to your liking. We look forward to your next visit! Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Although the room itself was very nice the food supplied by the hotel, left much to be desired with off orange juice and stale cereals at breakfast, to a pitiful range of dishes at dinner. Good location in walking distance of the front and good local restaurants. You might try a room only stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Scenic Hotel Bay of islands after your recent stay. Whilst we are happy you found the room to your satisfaction we are disappointed we failed to meet your expectations in the restaurant. I have discussed your comments with the chef and we are reviewing our breakfast procedures and content to ensure that all products served are in the best possible condition. As you will see from earlier comments the restaurant has been reviewed very favourably so we take your comments very seriously. The dinner menu is reflective of the winter season and is considerably smaller than in peak times to prevent wastage - again, this has been reviewed favourably by other guests in the past so we apologise if it was not up to your requirements. Again thanks for your comments - they will assist us in maintaining our usual high standards. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was my first stay at a Scenic Hotel & what a pleasant surprise.
Check in was friendly & efficient.
Set off the road surrounded by bush it was very quite, helped that few people were staying there.
Room was modern, clean & spacious.
Breakfast was included in the package & it was certainly hearty.
I've stayed in the Bay Of Islands many times & this was by far the best deal & best accommodation I have experienced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of Scenic Hotel Bay of islands after your recent stay. We are pleased you "discovered" us and that you found all facilities and our service to your complete staisfaction. We hope you will again choose our property for your accommodation requirements when next in Paihia. Regards Graeme Horsley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lovely spot surrounded by native bush, and bird wildlife. The room had everything you could ask for including comfy bed, lovely bathroom and nice patio area. The restaurant food was fantastic. Overall a wonderful stay, will definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your great review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed the peaceful surroundings the hotel is situated in - the native birds love our big trees and gardens! We are also pleased to read that you found the rooms and restaurant to your liking and hope that you again choose Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands for your next visit to Paihia. Regards Graeme Horsley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 6-10 July 2013 a family of 4 and loved it rooms are very clean and spacious and the location was great. We got a very good deal which included breakfast which was unbeatable.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel01061972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We were very pleased to read your comments and were glad to hear that you and your family found our facilities and location to your liking.Should you be back in the Bay of Islands again we would welcome the opportunity to provide your accommodation needs again. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
626 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing