We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean comfortable well appointed rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable well appointed rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A 4 night stay here with our sailing team was great. Handy location in Paihia meant we could walk to dinner.
The rooms, while simple, are well appointed and nicely decorated in modern but comfortable and clean lines.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your great comments - we are very pleased we managed to cpmplement your sailing experiences with our accommodation offerings.
Hopefully we will see you again in Paihia and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you once more.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    218
    65
    10
    3
See reviews for
87
290
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Scenic Hotel in Paihia in the beautiful Bay of Islands and found it to be a peaceful spot, our upstairs room and balcony overlooking the lawns and gardens . It is an easy 5 minute walk to the beach and shops, and a very pleasant 10 min walk to the central jetty area. The room and bathroom were well appointed, and clean and attractive, and all the staff friendly and helpful. We would especially recommend having dinner there , the menu was excellent and good service with great attentive staff, we ate there every night. The breakfast choice was good too. We would certainly stay there again.

Maxi Brisbane

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room close to the reception area if you have mobility problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxiBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your very positive feedback - obviously we are delighted you found our facilities and staff to your satisfaction. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Paihia in the not too distant future. Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
182 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent two nights at this nice little hotel in Paihia. This is a low key property, while it does not have a sea view, it is a short walk from the center of town. The room was spacious, neat and tidy, with the usual coffee maker, safe and free wifi, Even though it rained during our entire stay, the balcony overlooking the lush central garden was a nice addition. Speaking of rain - the huge umbrella in the closet was a welcome amenity. Lots of parking, and coin-op laundry which includes detergent.

The staff was accommodating, especially for letting us use the hotel fire hose to wash all the mud off our rental car following an off road adventure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SFworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay. Sorry about the weather though - the only thing we have no control over! We are pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us and hope you will return one day.
Regards
Graeme Horsley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Spent 3 nights here with two kids. Reception and restaurant staff were very, very helpful. The room (a superior) was spacious and clean and quiet, and the car parking was close to the room (in the 500 'block'). We arrived early but the room was made up and they kindly allowed us an early check in. The staff investigated trip options and booked our boat trip (with a discounted rate!)
Only a few minutes walk to the waterfront and beach with lots of options to eat. We spent a lot of time in the pool. We had a meal in the restaurant, which we enjoyed, and there were lots of options: loved the Caesar salad. All in all very good value and very pleasant stay. Couldn't fault it and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for your great comments on your stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are very pleased that all was to your satisfaction abd that our team were able to assist you with your sightseeing requirements. We have just recently installed new pool loungers so we hope you had a chance to use these while enjoying the pool. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again should you visit the Bay of Islands in the near future.
Regards
Graeme Horsley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I booked this hotel as a treat after a week's camping - and I am so glad I did. The hotel was impeccable from start to finish. The check-in and check-out staff were friendly and helpful. We were in the deluxe rooms which were enormous and beautifully appointed. The beds were fabulous. The room was on the ground floor and had a litte private terrace with views on to a well landscaped tropical garden. The pool area was lovely, so we spent most of our time there, and the restaurant/bar area was adjacent so we could have drinks delivered poolside. The meal choices at dinner were very good with a lot of variety. It must also be the best value meal I have had in a long time - I bought a 2 course dinner for myself which meant that the kid's mains were free. The kid's meals were really good, and my 3 year old ate the vegetarian lasagne with no hesitation. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel whether travelling for business or pleasure as it caters to both categories very well.

Room Tip: Ground floor deluxe rooms - have a private terrace area with access to the tropical gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. We are very pleased that all facets of your stay were to your satisfaction and hopefully will see you back again in the future!
Regards Graeme Horsley, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Quite Good ,
We spent two nights there, tidy but not spectacular , A bit far away from the main wharf area and no veiw of the bay.
We went mid summer so the gardens looked a bit dry and neglected .
We had a delux double room on the ground floor around the back.
A comfortable bed, TV too small for a large room, had to pay for wireless internet and quite slow , 3G internet wouldn't work at all in our room.
Nice shower and large bathroom, with a bath also which was good .
We had to walk some distance from the car park to the room.
and to the resturant .
Nice and quiet .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments after your recent stay at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands. Although, as you say, we are 5 minutes walk from the town centre and 100 meters from the beach, the advantage of the location is that it is very quiet and peaceful. We are pleased that we managed to tick a few boxes for your stay and will look into the things that didn't quite work for you.
Regards Graeme Horsley General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in January 2013. We booked a superior room and were happy with the room. The closest car park was a bit of a trek but at least this meant no roads near the room. Some minor gripes, room make up did not happen until, 3 in the afternoon, a kettle is provided in the room but this does not fit under the tap In the bathroom and no bath. We also noted that we had no milk in the fridge on the first night and we also found lunch boxes from previous occupants suggesting that checking of the fridge had been over looked when making up the room. On the positive side, breakfast was good and nothing was too much trouble for the bar and reception staff. Would I stay here again... Yes.

Room Tip: Book a superior room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PEDRO0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme H, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments after your stay with us. I have noted your "minor gripes" and taken them on board. As noted in my previous responses we did have an issue getting rooms serviced over the busy holiday period and I thank you for your patience in this matter. We are currently updating the kettles inthe rooms and trying to purchase units that do fit under the taps. I apologise for our shortcomings with the cleaning standards - especially the fridge and have addressed this with the Housekeeper.I am glad that all other facets of your stay were satisfactory and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again should you revisit Paihia in the near future.
REgards
Graeme Horsley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands

Property: Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Address: 58 Seaview Road | Paihia, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#18 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands has a sub-tropical resort ambiance, with island-influenced architecture, beautifully landscaped grounds and light airy rooms. Situated at the entrance to the seaside town of Paihia, it’s a pleasant stroll into town to access the main wharf, visitor activities, fine dining and shopping. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, the relaxed atmosphere of Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands will melt away your stresses in moments. The entire property has been extensively refurbished and expanded, and the attention to detail will impress you. As our guest you will enjoy: A choice of accommodation styles including standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Beautifully presented guest rooms, with earthy tones, splashes of colour, and quality room amenities. Excellent hotel facilities, including swimming pool, ample parking, wireless Internet and comprehensive conference facilities. Quality, relaxed dining and socialising in our licensed restaurant, and lounge bar. Easy walking access to Paihia’s main wharf, shops and local attractions. Our lush sub-tropical gardens, with water features and feature lighting, are attractive and relaxing by day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Paihia
Scenic Hotel Bay Of Islands Paihia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing