We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Nearby Hotels
$153
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$81
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$77
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$169
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$212
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$61
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveler rating
270
284
85
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
284
85
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe roomloved this hotelbuffet breakfastmotel styletour groupceiling fanshort walknew zealandhotel restaurantgood sizeguest laundrycentre of townlovely roomair conditioningswimming poollarge bathroomcomfortable beds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
515 - 520 of 657 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Scenic Paihia has great staff who really know how to look after their guests - well trained, attentive, friendly but not pushy. Rooms modern, very clean and well cared for, beds very comfortable, food, service all perfect. It was a cold weekend but inside was very snug.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your great review. Yes, the staff are great and we will pass on your comments to them. Look forward to hosting you again if you want to escape the Supercity! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We liked the place - way too long a walk with four heavy bags (month of travel) to our room, which was warm but had two doubles. Given that.... We switched rooms, and of course it was colder than cold and an even longer walk but OK. Every time we tried to use the restaurant it was either closed (8:00 PM) or had a tour group eating there with an incredibly long wait. My advice would be, either you have a restaurant that services your guest, or POST YOUR HOURS!. Went down the street a few blocks and found a serviceable place to eat, but it would have been nice after driving up from Auckland to have something on the premises. The room was OK but nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our checkin procedures offers guests they require a porter, as the boardwalk through our tropical gardens, whilst beautiful, may not suit everyone with luggage. The checkin procedures also states the restaurant times. Whilst the hotel does host dinner groups, other guests can also be accomodated at the same time. regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked my reservation through Centralr.com. Great rate find. We got in late and was offered a room upgrade to a Deluxe King Room... Thais (sorry if I misspelled your name) Duty Manager, was very lovely, She was very knowledgeable and hospitable. Even if she worked that night and also checked us out the next morning she was bubbly as.

the room was new, neat, tidy and chic. and the best part of the whole experience is the bed! I can easily get one of those mattress things on their beds! I had the best sleep in a long time in a short night. Although housekeeping knocked and woke us up at 9m in the morning. getting out of those bed is such a mission! I love it..

Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go deluxe king rooms room 800 onwards...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your great review. The Scenic Hotel Group has invested a significant amount of time in researching our new bedding system in our deluxe wing and I am very pleased that you have found somewhere to have a great nights sleep. Come back soon for a very relaxing time!. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The friendly staff greeted us and allocated "one of our best" rooms. We had three nights at this hotel. The parking was excellent but we had to run along a boardwalk through rain on more than one occasion to reach our room. The room was very clean, comfortable with a wall reverse cycle air conditioner which worked hard to warm the room. The bed was a soft king size. Very good bathroom with excellent shower and separate bath. Lovely big towels but couldn't dry overnight. We ate twice in the dining room, there was almost nowhere open to eat in town pre-season, and the food was not good. The staff were very friendly. Despite being off season a few coaches came and went and the dining room was half full. The hotel is not on the water front and would probably be quieter for that during the season.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Whilst not on the waterfront, the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands gets excellent reviews for the serenity and quiteness for this reason. As the hotel is situated in lush sub tropical gardens, there is a boardwalk element, however umbrellas are provided in the guest rooms and at reeption, should the weather turn nasty. As you have mentioned, the town and the hotel is still in the preseason and therefore still fairly quiet. If you are ever in NZ again, I suggest that you come in summer and sample the great weather in the Bay of Islands. regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We used a grab one deal and stayed here last weekend. The deal included breakfast, one nights stay in a superior room and a bottle of Chardonnay. Our room was actually upgraded to a deluxe room (which is just bigger) free of charge when we booked.
The room was ready on time, but one of the beds smelled odd as if the sheets had been slept in. Other than that it was great - 2 big beds, wine in the fridge, mini-bar, great shower. Breakfast was plentiful and had a choice of cooked or continental options. The menu had a vegetarian breakfast option but on the buffet it was just tomatoes, hash browns, beans - I think this is just pretty standard in NZ (veggie sausages etc are a rarity).
We had planned to eat at the restaurant on the Saturday night as it looks awesome and we were out on a long coach trip all day. When we arrived back there was a note on the bed stating the restaurant was closed due to a private function! We felt the hotel would have known this beforehand and should have mentioned it when we checked in. We were very disappointed about this as Paihia doesn't have much to offer food lovers - its all fast food and poor service we found.
On a more positive note the staff were very friendly and professional and the location of the hotel is great. We would stay again as the deal offers value for money and Paihia is a good base location to explore the Bay of Islands from.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drcallycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We have investigated your linen comments, however please be assured that we change all linen for new guests. In regards to the restaurant, this actually was a last minute decision due to factors out of our control. Due to this, you would not have received anywhere to the standard of service that we pride ourselves on, and therefore we reluctantly decided to close the restaurant. Whilst not ideal, I hope that you can understand this. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews