We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Admiral's View Lodge(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bella Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater Palms Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $158/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $65/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$153
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $119/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (666)
Filter reviews
666 results
Traveler rating
276
286
86
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
286
86
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo queen bedsbuffet breakfastmotel stylesuperior roomlovely hotelceiling fannew zealandhotel restaurantgood sizeguest laundrycentre of townlovely roomair conditioningswimming poollarge bathroomsea frontan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 666 reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The friendly staff greeted us and allocated "one of our best" rooms. We had three nights at this hotel. The parking was excellent but we had to run along a boardwalk through rain on more than one occasion to reach our room. The room was very clean, comfortable with a wall reverse cycle air conditioner which worked hard to warm the room. The bed was a soft king size. Very good bathroom with excellent shower and separate bath. Lovely big towels but couldn't dry overnight. We ate twice in the dining room, there was almost nowhere open to eat in town pre-season, and the food was not good. The staff were very friendly. Despite being off season a few coaches came and went and the dining room was half full. The hotel is not on the water front and would probably be quieter for that during the season.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Whilst not on the waterfront, the Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands gets excellent reviews for the serenity and quiteness for this reason. As the hotel is situated in lush sub tropical gardens, there is a boardwalk element, however umbrellas are provided in the guest rooms and at reeption, should the weather turn nasty. As you have mentioned, the town and the hotel is still in the preseason and therefore still fairly quiet. If you are ever in NZ again, I suggest that you come in summer and sample the great weather in the Bay of Islands. regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We used a grab one deal and stayed here last weekend. The deal included breakfast, one nights stay in a superior room and a bottle of Chardonnay. Our room was actually upgraded to a deluxe room (which is just bigger) free of charge when we booked.
The room was ready on time, but one of the beds smelled odd as if the sheets had been slept in. Other than that it was great - 2 big beds, wine in the fridge, mini-bar, great shower. Breakfast was plentiful and had a choice of cooked or continental options. The menu had a vegetarian breakfast option but on the buffet it was just tomatoes, hash browns, beans - I think this is just pretty standard in NZ (veggie sausages etc are a rarity).
We had planned to eat at the restaurant on the Saturday night as it looks awesome and we were out on a long coach trip all day. When we arrived back there was a note on the bed stating the restaurant was closed due to a private function! We felt the hotel would have known this beforehand and should have mentioned it when we checked in. We were very disappointed about this as Paihia doesn't have much to offer food lovers - its all fast food and poor service we found.
On a more positive note the staff were very friendly and professional and the location of the hotel is great. We would stay again as the deal offers value for money and Paihia is a good base location to explore the Bay of Islands from.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drcallycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We have investigated your linen comments, however please be assured that we change all linen for new guests. In regards to the restaurant, this actually was a last minute decision due to factors out of our control. Due to this, you would not have received anywhere to the standard of service that we pride ourselves on, and therefore we reluctantly decided to close the restaurant. Whilst not ideal, I hope that you can understand this. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

After a hectic week at work trying to wrap up in time for the short weekend I decided to book 3 nights at the Scenic Hotel for my partner and myself. We were pleasantly greeted by the service staff who checked us in and provided all the information on the hotel.

We had a Deluxe King Room which is comfortable, and clean with a fully stocked minibar. The only down side to the room was that the ranch window didn’t let in too much light and the halogen ceiling lights are not bright enough to light the room comfortably.

The food (both breakfast and dinner) was very enjoyable and again the service staff were very friendly and non invasive.

If you are looking for a nice weekend break in Paihia the definitely consider the Scenic Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stitterrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for posting your comments and the the positive feedback. Your comments on the lighting has been noticed. As the North Shore is only a short 3 hour journey, please come back and see us. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Scenic Hotel in May. We had a very comfortable sleep,
rooms modern, clean, staff very helpful and breakfast was excellent. We highly recommend this place to anyone going to the Bay of Islands.Very good value for money. Whilst it did not have a view of the water this did not matter as it was only a short walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acoupledownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thank you for taking time to posting your comment. The hotel is in the process of installing new bedding systems so that an even greater nights sleep will be had!. Look forward to hosting you if you ever come back to the Bay. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed twice during Easter and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We paid $135 inc breakfast for the first night and $125 inc breakfast for the second - King room. We were not expecting much as the price was reasonably cheap, but were pleasantly surprised! The staff were lovely and incredibly helpful and the room was large, clean and comfortable. We were going to stay at another place just around the corner which was $250 for the night – no breakfast, but glad we didn’t.

Room Tip: Ensure you pay to stay in the 'new' wing of the hotel and choose a superior king room
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezz083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSHBOI, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. As has been noted in many reviews, the staff are certainly an asset. we will pass your comments onto them. Looking forward to hosting you again from Auckland. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews