We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible roll together beds, dirty kitchen frypan, utensils etc”
Review of Marlin Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marlin Court Motel
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very disappointing two night stay. Queen bed in two bedroom unit was terribly uncomfortable & bad roll together. Tiny for two bedroom accommodation for four adults, not 4 star compared to previous 4* accommodation we have experienced, didn't even make beds! Frypan in kitchen needed cleaning by us prior to being used as did several other kitchen utensils as they had food stuck to them. Several Daddy long legs spiders in master bedroom, no sky tv, poor normal tv reception. Says free wifi, but this is capped.... Old & tired & in need off refurbishment. Noisy.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieACole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDavison, Owner at Marlin Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We are sorry that this guest had some issues, but these could have been resolved very quickly and easily if he had spoken with the management.
More free WiFi vouchers are available, these were not requested.
While every effort is made to make the beds, it is company policy that if guests leave personal
items on the beds, they are not moved. These guests had moved the beds making it difficult to access them, they had left clothes and other items scattered all over the floor, and electrical items were concealed/hidden in the bed. A decision was made not to move anything in case something was lost or mislaid.
The bed in the other bedroom is virtually brand new, and no other complaints about it have been made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Marlin Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 86 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

We found this motel to be clean and tidy with friendly staff running it. The room was a good size with plenty of space for our luggage. The price was reasonable and within walking distance of the town. We were able to book our Hole in the Rock cruise from here which was great and we received a 10% discount. We were only staying one night so didn't use the cooking facilities provided in the room. If you are looking for a Motel away from the Hubbub of the main town this would be the Motel for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dustymilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We found this a good motel to stay in very convenient for the beach and other sights in Pahia.
Room was clean and a good size,reasonably priced and the owners were very helpful.The room had outdoor space which I liked,and a nice place to sit to eat lunch.
We also had cooking facilities which was useful to prepare our lunch,and breakfast.
The owners also lent me beach towels which was nice of them,I would stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nestcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A great place to stay just a few metres from the beach. The unit was very clean and tidy, the only down side was ,no Sky TV.
As I have said before a dog friendly motel, not that you would notice in the units.
Once again I would thoroughly recommend this motel as a place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raewynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the 2 bedroom apartment (4 adults & 2 kids) .. A little "cramped" with 6 people but we didnt spend alot of time sitting around in our room, Paihia & surrounds is too beautiful to waste time sitting in a motel room .. the Marlin Court Motel is conveniently situated being a short walk to the beach front & wonderful eateries (so many to choose from!).
Our room was very clean & comfortable. It was nice & quiet (no rowdy neighbours or traffic noise) & John & Maureen were very friendly & helpful - They gave us a few reccommendations on what to see & do.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlsMissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have just returned home after a 3 night stay in family room 2 at the Marlin Court Motel. We were greeted by very accomodating and friendly owners, John and Maureen. The room was very clean and tidy and there was a plentiful supply of clean fresh towels on a daily basis. Fresh milk in the fridge on our arrival for a well deserved cuppa! The beds were very comfortable, and the unit had everything we needed, well equiped. The pool was clean, and gardens immaculate. Even our Springer Spaniel (Bonnie) enjoyed her stay. John and Maureen offered to look after Bonnie, whilst we went on a boat trip, which was great, and a lovely "extra mile" service provided by them. we returned from the trip to see Bonnie taking Maureen for a walk down the road!!

Overall a lovely clean, comfortable and friendly Motel which we would recommend to everyone, pet owners, or non pet owners. They even supply soft toilet roll, not that cheap crispy stuff!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Allie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can fully recommend this Motel to anyone visiting Paihia. John and Maureen were very friendly and assisted me with my husband, who gets lost at times! The motel was very conveniently situated for our purpose and well serviced. We stayed for 9 nights and it was always quiet and restful. We love the fact that it is pet-friendly, too! We will definitely return there in the future !
We loved the spacious shower, compared to other motel - showers.Trudie from Auckland

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#13 of 43 in Paihia
203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#16 of 43 in Paihia
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Court Motel

Address: 60 Seaview Road | P.O. Box 394, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $49 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlin Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Court Motel is probably the best motel in Paihia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Court Hotel
Marlin Court Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing