We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marlin Court Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlin Court Motel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
2 reviews
“A Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have just returned home after a 3 night stay in family room 2 at the Marlin Court Motel. We were greeted by very accomodating and friendly owners, John and Maureen. The room was very clean and tidy and there was a plentiful supply of clean fresh towels on a daily basis. Fresh milk in the fridge on our arrival for a well deserved cuppa! The beds were very comfortable, and the unit had everything we needed, well equiped. The pool was clean, and gardens immaculate. Even our Springer Spaniel (Bonnie) enjoyed her stay. John and Maureen offered to look after Bonnie, whilst we went on a boat trip, which was great, and a lovely "extra mile" service provided by them. we returned from the trip to see Bonnie taking Maureen for a walk down the road!!

Overall a lovely clean, comfortable and friendly Motel which we would recommend to everyone, pet owners, or non pet owners. They even supply soft toilet roll, not that cheap crispy stuff!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
28
32
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I can fully recommend this Motel to anyone visiting Paihia. John and Maureen were very friendly and assisted me with my husband, who gets lost at times! The motel was very conveniently situated for our purpose and well serviced. We stayed for 9 nights and it was always quiet and restful. We love the fact that it is pet-friendly, too! We will definitely return there in the future !
We loved the spacious shower, compared to other motel - showers.Trudie from Auckland

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We picked this place *because* it was pet-friendly, but I'd happily recommend it to anyone visiting Paihia. It's just around the corner from several eateries, and only a few minutes' walk from the shopping area.

Rosie, our dog, was slightly larger than the owners' three little dogs, which made her feel ever so slightly superior. On the owners' recommendation, I took her for several walks along the beach (low-tide only!), which she enjoyed immensely.

I've stayed at supposedly pet-friendly motels before, but they seemed begrudging. Here they love dogs, and will even look after them while you go out for boat trips.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

i stayed there when i was up for a wedding and got rudely kicked out at 9.30 because my friends name wasn't the one that had booked it the room,her mother had.owners did not seem to understand that even though they had the same last name.bit of common sense did not apply to these people

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quinnyboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDavison, Owner at Marlin Court Motel, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
This booking was a bit of a fiasco.The room( no. 8) was paid for using the credit card of the mother of the female who checked in.I told her thet no one else was permitted to use the room.

The following morning at 9.30 a youth came to the motel and said that he was trying to phone his sister who was staying in room 8. His description of his sister definitely did not fit the female who checked in.The occupants had been awake at 7.00am as the lights were on then. I thought they might have left.

No one answered the door when I knocked at 9.50 so I went in. A very drunk, young girl staggered to the door and she didn't really know where she was. Turned out she and her boy had drunk a bottle of Southern Comfort between them and didn't go to bed until 7.30am I was later told that their party had disturbed the occupants of the adjoining room.

I had never met the occupants of this room and it had never been explained to me that three generations were involved in booking it, paying for it and staying in it.

As far as I knew the young girl and her boy had no right to be in the room.I had never met either of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have just stayed at Marlin Court for 4 days, what a lovely place. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and the owner was most helpful in his suggestions of restaurants and places to visit. As we did not take our little fur baby this trip we did not feel disenchanted as his wee dogs were just beautiful, and had we taken ours they even provide a sitters service. the motel unit was spacious, with all one needs for a few days away.. The cleanliness of the unit was excellent as were the grounds and facilities. would recommend this resort to any one who wants a quiet break away and just 50 meters from the beach

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raewynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Stayed in a 2 bed room apartment with friends who had stayed at the Marlin before. The cleanliness of the rooms was of a very high standard. The rooms were comfortable and provided for all our needs. John and Maureen are friendly hosts and try hard to deal with any request you have. The motel is in an excellent position within easy reach of the restaurants giving a nice walk back after a good meal. The rates are reasonable and I would certainly recommend this motel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gavdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

We checked into this motel without a prior booking and after a brief inspection that showed that, although it looks '1970s' from outside, inside was comfortable, very clean, spacious and well-equipped. We had a separate bedroom with bathroom access; ranch sliders leading to a patio and a small private lawn. As we were on a 'resting' holiday we spent a lot of time coming and going from 'home' and found it was just that. We could walk everywhere without climbing hills; were able to cook all our own meals and the couch and bed were very comfortable - plus it was quiet at night. Up-to-date TV. Only quibble would be use of the laundry for guests - it cost $9 to do one load of washing and put it through the dryer (and, although advertised as available at 11am the motel laundry was taking precedence until later in the day). All up a motel we would return to - great service with clean towels each day and rubbish removed too.

Room Tip: Ask for a separate bedroom - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katemNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
2.5 mi away
Haruru Falls Resort
Haruru Falls Resort
#39 of 43 in Paihia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#20 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#8 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#14 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Edelweiss Motel
Edelweiss Motel
#18 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#30 of 43 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Court Motel

Property: Marlin Court Motel
Address: 60 Seaview Road | P.O. Box 394, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlin Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Court Motel is probably the best motel in Paihia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marlin Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Court Hotel
Marlin Court Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing