We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - won't be the last!”
Review of Marlin Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marlin Court Motel
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed December 16, 2011

This is a real gem! The hosts, John and Maureen, are lovely people - really helpful with suggestions of places to go etc. The rooms are spacious and spotlessly kept, milk in the fridge ready for a brew-up when you arrive. The beds are very comfortable. Plenty of car parking and easy walking distance to everything in town, but just away from the bustle of the town centre. Perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 93 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

There are lots of cockroaches in rooms, bathrooms and kitchenette of this beautiful motel! Parking space is good. Rooms are spacious with nice balcony. However, the management of this motel is rude and not welcoming. No matter if guest's reach late, management should understand that delay in checking In by guests happen for reasons, they should make there guests feel comfortable no matter if they reach late, the guests might be tired and feeling out of place in New Country after a long and hectic journey.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharuDawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDavison, Owner at Marlin Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2011

I have checked our bookings and these guests did stay with us back in February.
We have no record of any problem at the time and we did actually give them a free upgrade.
Why would it take a "senior contributor" 10 months to write this?
This is hardly fair on us Trip Advisor, how about removing it???

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Great spot for a relaxing holiday, large bright clean apartment with outdoor area. Comfortable bed and no street noise. Owners very informative about the local activities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level for easier access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOYF38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

All rooms are lovely, close to amenities and the beach.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, stayed for a second visit love the close proximity to town and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falcon073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

very clean and comfortable. every thing you need. The owners very friendly and helpful.. We would highly recommend it.
Mike and Julie Jones. Wales uk

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliejones57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Very friendly service, comfortable rooms and great location, close to town but not noisy. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billandtednz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for a week with our small dog. The motel is clean and comfortable and very close to some good restaurants. You can walk anywhere from here. John and Maureen were excellent and such lovely people. They upgraded us to a bigger room which we really appreciated. They were also very helpful re local knowledge of the best places to go for food etc. Being able to take our dog made the holiday so much more fun and she had a ball exploring the Bay of Islands with us. We are already thinking of our next holiday - and will be staying at Marlin Court Motel again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherJohn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0 mi away
Casa Bella Motel
Casa Bella Motel
#18 of 43 in Paihia
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Paihia Pacific Resort Hotel
0 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#8 of 43 in Paihia
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bounty Motel
Bounty Motel
#17 of 43 in Paihia
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Court Motel

Address: 60 Seaview Road | P.O. Box 394, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Price Range: $80 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlin Court Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marlin Court Motel is probably the best motel in Paihia! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marlin Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Court Hotel
Marlin Court Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing