We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the resort and had a wonderful time.
When we checked in we discovered that our room hadn't been serviced. When we rang reception we were immediately upgraded, which was wonderful.
The location is just perfect and every room has a gorgeous view. Our breakfasts were included in our package and every one was lovely.
I would have to say that the rooms are just starting to become a little bit tired and for it to stay a luxury resort this should be looked at.
I also went to the spa and highly recommend this for some pampering while on holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lex_rex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 258 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here for one night expecting a five-star boutique hotel and spa as advertised but was pretty disappointed.

For starters, I booked this hotel over a month in advance and specifically chose it because of its spa services. I emailed Rachel soon after my booking was confirmed to book in a couple's massage upon arrival as I knew my boyfriend and I would likely want to relax after the drive from Auckland. She confirmed the massage booking but upon check-in we were told there was no record at all of our spa appointment and the only time they could fit us in was 9am the next morning! Needless to say I didn't take the 9am booking and was left with a negative first impression.

We got up to our room and I noticed that even the bathroom amenities were comprised of different brands which I've never seen at any hotel in my life. The window to the bedroom looked straight out into the communal hallway and the furniture looks dated and is not up to standard with five-star or even four-star hotels.

The only saving grace was the service at the pool. The waiter was very helpful in providing us with drinks while we were there and we were even allowed to enjoy a glass of wine in the jacuzzi which was a rarity - most hotels are very strict about glassware in pools these days. The jacuzzi closing time was also extended to allow us and another couple to enjoy a late-night dip which we appreciated.

However, I will not recommend to family and friends and definitely won't be going back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TokyoKiwi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Top location right on the beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful pool and individual spas. Great food at the in house restaurant. Wonderful rooms with great views, super comfortable beds and pillows. Great value for money. Spa is top of the range.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmithsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We have relatives who live just across the street so as we went up to Paihia on the spur of the moment, we did no prior checks but they recommended it and we were only staying the one night.

Wow! We had the choice of a third floor room but opted for a pool level room having been shown it first by the smiling receptionist and that was it. Not just one spa pool, but 4, out on the patio, plus the main pool and a larger spa pool.

A stunning view across the bay but just around the corner from the centre of Paihia, half way between town and Waitangi. The room was in all senses immaculate and beautifully appointed with a large screen TV on a swivelling wall bracket and a DVD player. (There were DVDs in reception.)

As usual in these sorts of places, the mini bar prices were eye watering but there was a good supply of teas and coffee, including a sachet of fresh coffee - but we couldn't find the plunger!

Although we didn't use them, there were robes and slippers and thankfully, dispensers in the shower/bath for shampoo, conditioner and body-wash, rather than small sachets. There was even a complimentary toothbrush - which was fortunate as for once, I'd forgotten mine.

Although we had an excellent sleep, we are not at all sure about the overall sound insulation. There are just three undercover garage spaces and we managed to grab one.

We'll probably be back again within the next two months and will stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved the pool level room but believe that any would be OK.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socram13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stopped on the off chance as we passed to check the rate but we thought it would be way over our budget. We we're offered a really good deal and were so happy when we saw the room. Everything was clean, and the room was spacious and bright. It was the best night of the whole trip and we wished we had spent an extra night here instead of moving on as planned. I have nothing negative but wish there were more than 5 stars. Definitely 7 on my scale!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on the last day of a 14 day road trip around NZ. So glad I saved it for last. The staff was so nice and helpful with everything. We loved the pool area and the views. The room was very modern and the bed very comfy. We had a complementary breakfast that was wonderful. We would totally stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We received a warm welcome at this boutique hotel and were given a room on the top floor (4th) with great views across the Bay of Islands. The room was spacious and well-equipped with a very comfortable king-size bed, widescreen TV, hi-fi system, iPod dock, kitchenette with microwave, large balcony with table, chairs and lounger.
The bathroom boasted a large Jacuzzi tub, which required a great deal of water to cover the jets and probably consumed a fair amount of electricity, and yet there were several notices asking us to save the planet by not having towels changed daily and bed linen only every three days. Another notice invited us not to have the room cleaned in the interests of the environment! In large hotels, I always regard this as a cynical attempt to increase profits whilst giving a nod to the environmentalists. In this case, we were offered a NZD10 voucher for the Spa if the room was not cleaned, a neat way of promoting the Spa.
My local oysters at dinner were possibly the best I have enjoyed anywhere in the world, large, plump and full of flavour. The fillet steak was less good for NZD33.50, being on the thin side and more well done rather than the requested medium/rare. Both carafe wines from the barrel were good, but quite expensive. The lunchtime prawn and mango salad comprised good, warm tiger prawns with a single slice of overripe mango accompanied by lettuce, cucumber, grapes, a strawberry, tomatoes, aioli and a raspberry coulis. I guess this is what is meant by fusion cuisine. No bread was offered. The cooked breakfast was good apart from two frankfurters masquerading as sausages. Continental was adequate.
We didn't get to use the outdoor heated pool and jacuzzis as the weather closed in, wet and windy, but they looked lovely.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and I have no hesitation in recommending the Paihia Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mokey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.7 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paihia Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 130 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#16 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $241 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Paihia Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa overlooks Paihia's most picturesque beach and is within walking distance of Paihia Wharf, the departure point to discover the wonderful Bay of Islands. Located within the Hotel is the chic poolside and ocean view restaurant offering only the finest culinary experience. Visit the hotel's award-winning spa, La Spa Naturale, offering first class spa treatments with a uniquely New Zealand flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paihia Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paihia Beach Resort And Spa
Paihia Beach Hotel Paihia
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing