We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but Contradictory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Brit in Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely but Contradictory”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We received a warm welcome at this boutique hotel and were given a room on the top floor (4th) with great views across the Bay of Islands. The room was spacious and well-equipped with a very comfortable king-size bed, widescreen TV, hi-fi system, iPod dock, kitchenette with microwave, large balcony with table, chairs and lounger.
The bathroom boasted a large Jacuzzi tub, which required a great deal of water to cover the jets and probably consumed a fair amount of electricity, and yet there were several notices asking us to save the planet by not having towels changed daily and bed linen only every three days. Another notice invited us not to have the room cleaned in the interests of the environment! In large hotels, I always regard this as a cynical attempt to increase profits whilst giving a nod to the environmentalists. In this case, we were offered a NZD10 voucher for the Spa if the room was not cleaned, a neat way of promoting the Spa.
My local oysters at dinner were possibly the best I have enjoyed anywhere in the world, large, plump and full of flavour. The fillet steak was less good for NZD33.50, being on the thin side and more well done rather than the requested medium/rare. Both carafe wines from the barrel were good, but quite expensive. The lunchtime prawn and mango salad comprised good, warm tiger prawns with a single slice of overripe mango accompanied by lettuce, cucumber, grapes, a strawberry, tomatoes, aioli and a raspberry coulis. I guess this is what is meant by fusion cuisine. No bread was offered. The cooked breakfast was good apart from two frankfurters masquerading as sausages. Continental was adequate.
We didn't get to use the outdoor heated pool and jacuzzis as the weather closed in, wet and windy, but they looked lovely.
The staff were helpful and friendly, and I have no hesitation in recommending the Paihia Beach Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mokey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    68
    18
    17
    5
See reviews for
40
173
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Great first impression from the smiling, friendly and helpful older woman who checked us in. 10 out of 10 for customer service for this lovely lady!
Fabulous position with wide sea views from our 2nd floor balcony - good swimming beach just across the road. ...Or make use of the lovely pool area including 4 hot pools and spa.
Spacious apartment-style room with excellent stream-lined kitchen facilities including dishwasher, microwave, oven/cook-top and very big fridge- freezer. (We were very impressed by the kitchen facilities in comparison to similar complexes we have stayed in.)
Big single-person spa in room, with shower over. (Probably not the best for anyone with even minor mobility issues, due to having to clamber over the high side of the bath.) Comfortable King-sized bed screened off from lounge area. (We found the complex to be quiet at night during our stay and slept well.) Comfortable two-seater couch and one armchair, good- sized tv, stereo system and desk...... Not to mention a large round dining table with 4 chairs.
Could not access free wi-fi. No problem for us, but could be for a corporate guest. Decor beginning to age a little but still attractive. Guest laundry on the same floor. Easy walk to village and tour operators.
Spa therapy and hairdresser on site.We did not use these services, but applaud the concepts.
We really enjoyed our stay and could happily have stayed longer.
We heartily recommend this resort if you can secure a reduced rate!

###. The one negative aspect was our restaurant experience. The "winter 2012" menu was uninspiring and the food was very, very disappointing. It seemed to us, " the chef's heart just wasn't in it"..... Or is it the owners? .....Perhaps because the complex is up for sale? The only redeeming factor was the helpful, friendly Portuguese waiter. We would not recommend the restaurant for dinner.
###. We would also venture to suggest the wall between reception and the lift be removed/altered to enable easier guest and luggage-trolley access.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jafagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yamunanagar, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The stay at Paihia Beach resort was amazing. Fabulous property. Huge poolside room , peaceful stay. A beautiful view of the sea, enjoyed sunrise and sunset by the pool. Few mins walk from city. Want to come back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivekgolecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Exactly what we wanted. Huge balcony with great view, the room was well appointed and all up it suited our requirements perfectly. We arrived late afternoon on Dec 22 after driving up from Auckland following our flight from Melbourne. I had asked my travel agent for a 4-5 star property, close to everything in Paihia as we had a days sailing to enjoy and we wanted to walk around and experience the location and history of Waitangi. Just perfect location for a quick 3 night stop. And if you want to go elsewhere for dinner, aside from the very good on site restaurant, then just a stone's throw down the road (walking) is a great restaurant called 35 Degrees South another great find.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor - magic views and less pool noise, more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and it was clean, private , great service, very nice staff great pool- it's a nice 7 min walk from town and that's positive .i stayed in a pool side room. Very peaceful .the meals are of a good standard and staff friendly . Across the road from the sea . I will be back.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This boutique luxury resort is a great place to unwind and explore the delights of the Bay of Islands. The location is simply stunning, all the rooms look out over the water, are very comfortable and modern; the facilities the best in town and the staff exceptional. We stayed 7 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob4228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great location, excellent view. Rooms were spacious and clean.
The only negatives that we found was our package included breakfast on the booking form (on the hotels letterhead) and as it didnt match with what the reception had on file, they decided they didnt want to honour it. Customer service 101 would be to honour it when the customer is in front of you and correct the mistake behind the scenes later on.

We had breakfast at the hotel on one of the mornings we were there (paid seperately) and whilst the restaurant staff were very friendly and accomodating; the food and coffee seemed sub par compared to what else is available down the road, although the portion size was great. This was a shame considering the view from the restaurant was fantastic and it would have otherwise been excellent.

We really enjoyed our stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
629 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
The Lodge at Kauri Cliffs
#1 of 1 in Matauri Bay
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paihia Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paihia Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 130 Marsden Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#16 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Paihia Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa overlooks Paihia's most picturesque beach and is within walking distance of Paihia Wharf, the departure point to discover the wonderful Bay of Islands. Located within the Hotel is the chic poolside and ocean view restaurant offering only the finest culinary experience. Visit the hotel's award-winning spa, La Spa Naturale, offering first class spa treatments with a uniquely New Zealand flavour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Paihia Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paihia Beach Resort And Spa
Paihia Beach Hotel Paihia
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing