We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of The Pier Lounge Bar & Cafe - CLOSED

The Pier Lounge Bar & Cafe
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent location”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great location but very poor service. At times had to wait over twenty minutes for a drink. Staff seemed very inexperienced. Drinks were often warm

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    48
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Too little too late”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Very very slow service. I had to ask where our meals were after 45 minutes. One waitress was very apologetic and did comp our drinks however when the food did finally arrive it was not worth the wait. The fish was unfortunately overcooked well I suppose it had been 45mins to the plate.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers eat your heart out”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you want a morning of watching an inexperienced waiter run ragged whilst a sole cook begrudgingly makes your order and you quietly die of starvation at the time it all takes, then The Pier is the spot for you. From the awkwardly placed barrel holding the till which is perfectly positioned far enough away from the counter to maximise its hindrance to both barista and order-taker alike, to the waiter who battled the wind gusts only to lose most of one plate's garnish and half of another's salmon the place is a triumph of comedy.

If you want fast, efficient service and meals that come out quickly and effortlessly then this isn't the place you're looking for. If you find such a place in Paihia though, please let me know. For a tourist town it is streets behind where it should be from a service industry point of view and upskilling of service staff is desperately required. Waiting nearly one hour for food which eventually came out incorrectly was a bridge too far. No hangover deserves to wait that long for eggs. We didn't raise the incorrect order with the wait staff because we were nearly at the point of cannibalism and the fact that our order hadn't been dropped to the floor we thought was a minor miracle.

The view is awesome however but as I am becoming increasingly more aware of, the quality of a place's view is inversely proportional to its quality of service. And this is never truer in this instance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CB1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish & Chips”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very friendly and efficient service. The scallops to start with were excellent as was the Fish (Blue Cod in beer batter) and Chips to follow. Excellent value.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, unbeatable view”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Fish of the day, lamb salad, green -lipped mussels perfectly prepared in a lively restaurant looking at the Bay of Islands. - wow! Very good value, especially in Paihia where ordinary food commands high prices. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Lounge Bar & Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing