We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality of food was not consistent”
Review of The Pier Lounge Bar & Cafe - CLOSED

The Pier Lounge Bar & Cafe
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality of food was not consistent”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had breakfast at the The Pier on our last day at Paihia. My husband & kids ordered the bagel with salmon, spinach & cream cheese. It was very good and cooked well. I ordered fried eggs & bacon. The eggs were black & burnt at the edges & bottom. Service was so-so.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4evrtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    48
    12
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great surprise.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I wasn't expecting much of this place but had a wonderful meal.
Salmon on greens with roasted veges. Delicious. Reasonable prices too. Wonderful spot right on the waterfront - give it a go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangonui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best meal out for ages”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was on a short break in Paihia, and wanted to eat out for a change, with some restaurants being quite expensive, we found The Pier Lounge Bar and Cafe excellent value for money with lovely friendly staff and a perfect setting right on the wharf. We ordered the Beef Eye Fillet steak which was really well priced. Admittedly it was not a huge steak, but it was plenty to feed us and came with a lovely salad, roasted carrot and beetroot. Infact for the first time for ages we were both able to fit in a dessert, for me a warm fudge brownie, and my partner a raspberry and apple crumble, both served with ice cream. We came away satisfied but not bursting at the seams, which was nice. All the options on there menu were well priced, especially when you consider a takeway not too far from here was charging $7 for 1 piece of fish. I would recommend this place, and will happily dine there again whenever in Paihia.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank subee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice view but slow service”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

we had an enjoyable happy hour drink while watching sunset over Paihia harbour. but the service was quite slow

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Drinks and snacks”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great views, good service, nice gin and tonic and beer, well located after a boat trip or before, also good value for lunch and dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LorraineB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pier Lounge Bar & Cafe also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing