We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakwater Motel
Nearby Hotels
$129
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl of the Bay(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$76
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Averill Court Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$68
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Seaview Resort Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$61
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
518
139
17
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
518
139
17
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwaterfront suiteunderfloor heatingsea viewseparate bedroomroad noisesitting roomfree wifishort walkthe waitangi treaty groundsnew zealandshops and restaurantsheat pumpthe kitchenstayed for nightsserviced dailysky tv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 683 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We didn't get a room with a view, but there is no view at night. The room (16) is very
quiet. No rooms above you or backing on to any walls. Very clean, good bed, nice little kitchen, shower OK. Only one minor point - the tiled floor was very cold, would have been good to have a rug either side of the bed.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lord K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Lord K

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our studio unit (16). A wonderful quiet room nestled against the native bush. Thanks for your suggestion on the rugs - we have now added 3 large shaggy rugs to the unit. So with the heatpump and the rugs you are certain of a snug night!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Beautiful views. Friendly hosts. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely bathroom with excellent shower. Room cleaned daily. Quiet location. Close to wharf. No issues with road noise, despite close location. We certainly got what we paid for.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Martin C

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel and great to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This was an excellent place to begin our visit to New Zealand. We had a great room,with a great view. The motel is walking distance to several good restaurants - we had ribs one night and Thai food the next as well as a great coffee shop (upstairs) that served the best flat white of our entire stay. It is a short drive to the Maori treaty grounds and you can easily get to Russell either by passenger or car ferry

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_halletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi to the_halletts

Thank you for your great review and we are happy to know that we gave you a great introduction to this beautiful country.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We just loved this hotel, had a beautiful view of the beach and water, saw the sun go down and come up again...

Walking distance to pubs, restaurants, takeaway, convenience stores, wharf to Russell and all the amentities needed locally, walking distance to Waitangi as well.

The rooms are tastefully modern in décor, with very comfortable beds and up to date furnishings, the kitchenette was very well fitted out with all the necessary bit and pieces.

The bathroom was great and the shower very good, nice toiletries and fluffy towels.

We also enjoyed a great Spa pool, private, clean and hot!

The Management were friendly and very welcoming, offered a Continental breakfast but we
were leaving early in the morning, so declined.

Very good value for money and over the summer, if you want somewhere nice to stay on
Paihia waterfront, highly recommend this establishment but suggest you book early to
avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Rooms on the seaside are the best, the rangesliders are sound proof so no noise at night, ask for an 2nd floor room as they have a lovely private balcony...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhbjafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi bhbjafa

Thank you so much for the fabulous in depth review of our property and for the recommendation. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were walk ins wanting a room with water views. The view was good and one could watch the boats coming and going to Russell as well as other water based activities. The room was very comfortable with kitchen facilities to make a light meal. The property suited us for our 3 night stay and we would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Hi Milton K

Sincere thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we are certainly have the ideal location close to all the facilities at a mere 4 minute walk away.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews