We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Breakwater Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bounty Motel(Paihia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveler rating
522
141
17
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
141
17
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationwaterfront suiteunderfloor heatingsea viewseparate bedroomroad noisefree wifisitting roomshort walkthe waitangi treaty groundsshops and restaurantsnew zealandheat pumpthe kitchenstayed for nightsserviced dailysky tv
Filter
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 689 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Excellent location, spotless room, balcony with a good sea view, close, easy parking, free wi-fi, quiet, close to shops and restaurants, easy walk into town, close to the beach. An excellent location for a Bay of Islands visit.

ABSOLUTELY NO PROBLEMS AT ALL.

An excellent place to stay. We'd certainly go back.

Room Tip: They all look good to me. All come with a sea view balcony. Ours had plenty of space and a well equipped kitchen.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP4SB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Hi JP4SB

Thank you SO much for the fantastic review of your stay and we are most delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves with us.

Look forward to hosting you once again in the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our accommodation had plenty of room with spacious bathroom, separate bedroom and balcony overlooking the bay. Despite being on the main road there was little noticeable noise. The unit was essentially brand new and kept spotlessly clean. Great location, being very quiet yet only a couple of minutes walk to facilities in Paihia.

Room Tip: Traffic on the main road was relatively light (March) so rooms fronting main road have the advantage of a stunning view without suffering from road noise
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macca99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Hi macca99

Thank you for your fabulous review of your stay in a Waterfront Suite.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was our first stop after arriving in Auckland 2 days prior. We had a room overlooking the bay that was nice, clean and quite roomy. The proprietor was very helpful with recommendations on what to do for our 2 day stay. Once here we never had to drive anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wynelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Hi Wynelover

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Motel. Yes a great bonus of our location is that we are so central you don't need to use your vehicle.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

3 nights was not long enough. This was a home away from home. Even did some laundry in the very clean laundry room on the premises.
A stunning view of the ocean in a quiet second floor corner suite was ideal. The suites were very clean and well maintained and our hosts Lyn and Ken were so friendly and kind. Quick walk to town for food, drinks or a boat ride. Excellent location and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor ocean front suites are worth the bit extra.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 66LMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Hi 66LMS

Love your description...Just Perfect!! This is our goal for each and every guest .

Thank you for sharing your stay with us and you reitterate what most guests tell us...they should have stayed in the Bay of Islands longer!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroomed unit overlooking the Bay This gave us the most beautiful view ever. It is a short walk to the ferry for Russell and a 10-15 min walk to the Waitangi Treaty Ground. 2 safe, sandy swimming beaches close by.
The motel is spotlessly clean and very well appointed with good quality toiletries, all new fittings, new bathroom, kitchen and lounge furniture. The kitchen was very well equipped, we even had a colander and a jug to fit in the fridge so we could have chilled water.
Ken & Lyn are the perfect hosts, very informative and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Judithedykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Hi Judithedykes

Many thanks for the in depth review of our motel - a great referral for fellow travellers.

We are happy that you enjoyed your break with us and that breathtaking ocean view.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews