We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Rooms Two Different Experiences”
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Two Rooms Two Different Experiences”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is an unusual review to write as stayed two nights, had two different rooms with totally different experiences.

To start when we arrived we thought (as advertised) we were going to be given a "suite with private patio with garden views" as opposed to a suite with patio and water views. When we booked we opted for the cheaper option... big mistake! We arrived to a friendly greeting and were escorted to our room, No.16. You've heard of the saying "worse house in the best street" well same applies here. If you have a look on Google Maps R16 is in the area where you can see a silver refection on the right! From the minute we walked in we didn't want to be there. The room was right next door to a garage and you felt isolated from the rest of the complex. The patio was outside the front door and enclosed by a brick wall with definitely no garden views. We did have a nice view of the car park though! For the price this was well below what we expected so we aired our feelings the next day... more to let the management know we weren't happy. As a result we were upgraded to a water front room and at no extra charge... what difference and great PR on the managements part.

As far as the first room itself was concerned it was okay,certainly nothing special. Compared to the other units it was definitely the worse room in the place. The room itself had adequate space, it was clean, had most of what you would need for self catering and would have worked for a nights stay had it been in a better location in the motel. At just under $200/night though it wasn't good value even if it was better locationed. We traveled around NZ for 19 days and this was pretty mush the most expensive room we paid for and sadly the worst.

If we were reviewing the motel based on our second nights stay then it would be a completely different ball game. Being a water front room (R15) it had a completely different feel as one would expect! You wanted to be there rather than wanted to escape. It was more spacious than the first room as it offered a separate bedroom. Considering the extra cost for a water front room isn't that much more than a garden suite it certainly would be worth the extra money and it makes the garden suite overpriced.

I can understand why the motel is rated so highly by guests but I suspect most stayed in a water front room and none got R16!

Room Tip: Stay in a water front room. Avoid R16 at all costs unless you're staying for just one night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Rodney K

Ironically whilst reading your review I had a guest come into our office to check out of our Studio (Unit 16) and describe the unit as an "ABSOLUTE GEM'!

No where on our website does it state that the Studio Suite has garden views. The private patio indeed exists which up until now everyone has enjoyed the privacy given here. You chose the cheapest option available at our motel and invariably Studios are the budget option. Our rate is certainly appropriate for the high season in Paihia and comparable to other budget studios of the same quality in this area.

We were glad that you enjoyed the Waterfront Suite which we upgraded you to at no extra charge.

It is however interesting to note on your previous reviews of other properties it appears that same modus operandi applies.

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    122
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
103
412
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here in November for 3 nights. This was the first place we visited in New Zealand and both the Breakwater Motel and Paihai were fantastic. We really enjoyed our stay at the Breakwater Motel and found the accomodation to be very good. Clean, fresh rooms.
Fantastic views from the upstairs rooms with stunning views over the bay. Really enjoyed sitting on the balcony watching the sunrise.
The location is also very handy, with the restaurants a short walk along the road. Traffic noise did not bother us at all
The hosts Ken and Lynn were very pleasant. I t would be great to visit the area again and we wouldnt hesitate to stay at the Breakwater Motel

Room Tip: Upstairs suites are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Brulach

It was great having you stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My second stay at the Breakwater under the current hosts Ken and Lynn. It was a few months back now but the stay here was really faultless and memorable for all the right reasons. The rooms and their views were outstanding, the cleanliness and attention to detail is amazing and the hospitality second to none.

The proof is in the pudding and, in my opinion, the number of excellent reviews on this site say it all. (How frustrating for conscientious motel owners such as Ken and Lynn to have their perfect record blotted by someone that didn't even stay here!)

Highly recommended, I will definitely return!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Burger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi Burger99

Sincere thanks for once again sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Breakwater Motel while in Paihia. It is very nice accommodation, with stunning views over the bay from our upstairs flat. The location is also very handy, with the wharf a short walk along the beach. It is also very handy for visiting the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and Harura Falls. The only issue I have with this accommodation is the price, as we payed $395 per night! We stayed in New Zealand for one month and we stayed in places just as good, which were only half the price!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hi Iain J

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of our Waterfront Suite and delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.

In response to your comment on the price. You stayed during our peak season - between Christmas and beginning of January - so if you had stayed elsewhere in NZ during this period you would have found the pricing to be similar for the standard and location we offer. I fail to understand the reason for your comment on the price as you selected to pay this rate prior to arrival. Other motels were available and cheaper, but you would not have experienced the location nor the quality that we offer. We were fully booked during this period.

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This motel is a very nicely updated motel. The rooms are quite roomy, the beds are nice, the kitchenette pretty big and the bathroom very nice. Our room did not have a view, but had a quiet location. There is ac, which is needed at times. The owners are very accommodating Everything in town is in walking distance..

Room Tip: Not all rooms have water views and I am not sure if the extra money is worth getting a water view. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maloofmieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hi Maloofmieke

Thank you for taking the time to review our Garden Suite. These suites are certainly spacious and exceptionally quiet nestled near the native bush. The extra bonus is hearing the beautiful sounds of the Morepork.

Kind Regards
Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a 1 bedroom upstairs waterview apartment. The view of the water was great - the balcony was small so not really designed to sit for a long time but both lounge and bedroom had sliding glass doors and full wall of windows so view could be appreciated from inside.
The apartment also looked over the road which is extremely busy but the traffic was minimal from about 10pm to 7am for the four nights we were there so sleeping was not an issue at all.
Our teenage daughter had a queen size fold out couch in the living area - said it was one of the most comfortable she has ever slept on. It did make the living area a bit tight for moving around when opened. The main bed was also very comfortable.
Split system air conditioner in the living room only so not sure how warm the bedroom would get in the warm weather - we took advantage of the beautiful breeze and had the all the doors open while we were there until bedtime.
Whole complex was immaculately clean and the hosts friendly and able to provide ideas of what to see, where to eat and also book tours for us.
10 minute stroll to the main shopping/dining area of Paihia along the waterfront.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
HI AndreaD

Thank you for sharing your experience in a Waterfront Suite at Breakwater Motel. Glad that you enjoyed the comfortable beds which we recently upgraded. The airconditioning/heat pump units are more than adequate to either cool or heat the entire unit. Especially in winter with the underfloor heating in the bathroom and kitchen - not that it gets very cold in this sub-tropical climate.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We so enjoyed our short break at the Breakwater Motel had fab rooms looking over the sea and a lovely garden view. Rooms were very spacious and the kitchens and sitting room were well kitted out. The on sight laundrette was very useful but remember if your touring you need washing powder!! Lynn and Ken were very helpful in recommending restaurants and were also right in pre booking the "Cruise with the Dolphins Trip" as we were there in the height if the busy season

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntiechoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Auntiechoi

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing