We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and water views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakwater Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good location and water views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We had a 1 bedroom upstairs waterview apartment. The view of the water was great - the balcony was small so not really designed to sit for a long time but both lounge and bedroom had sliding glass doors and full wall of windows so view could be appreciated from inside.
The apartment also looked over the road which is extremely busy but the traffic was minimal from about 10pm to 7am for the four nights we were there so sleeping was not an issue at all.
Our teenage daughter had a queen size fold out couch in the living area - said it was one of the most comfortable she has ever slept on. It did make the living area a bit tight for moving around when opened. The main bed was also very comfortable.
Split system air conditioner in the living room only so not sure how warm the bedroom would get in the warm weather - we took advantage of the beautiful breeze and had the all the doors open while we were there until bedtime.
Whole complex was immaculately clean and the hosts friendly and able to provide ideas of what to see, where to eat and also book tours for us.
10 minute stroll to the main shopping/dining area of Paihia along the waterfront.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
HI AndreaD

Thank you for sharing your experience in a Waterfront Suite at Breakwater Motel. Glad that you enjoyed the comfortable beds which we recently upgraded. The airconditioning/heat pump units are more than adequate to either cool or heat the entire unit. Especially in winter with the underfloor heating in the bathroom and kitchen - not that it gets very cold in this sub-tropical climate.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    121
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
99
397
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We so enjoyed our short break at the Breakwater Motel had fab rooms looking over the sea and a lovely garden view. Rooms were very spacious and the kitchens and sitting room were well kitted out. The on sight laundrette was very useful but remember if your touring you need washing powder!! Lynn and Ken were very helpful in recommending restaurants and were also right in pre booking the "Cruise with the Dolphins Trip" as we were there in the height if the busy season

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntiechoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Auntiechoi

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had a short break at the Breakwater Motel. Truly superb. Excellent views and location. Management do all they can to make the stay pleasurable. Suite is large, roomy and clean. walking distance to great restaurants and wharf.

Room Tip: Go high for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wombat57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Wombat57

Love your description - Bay of Islands pearl - thank you SO much! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your short break with us.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Had a fabulous 3 day stay,great location,fantastic accomodation,everything nearby and in walking distance.Views from our patio looking over the water was great.
recomend taking the ferry ride to Russell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tscarr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi tscarr1

Thanks for your great review and happy that you enjoyed your break with us.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were made to feel welcome from the initial greeting until the final farewell. Ken and Lyn were excellent hosts. Our apartment was first class and contained everything we needed. View was first rate and Motel was within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and Ferry and Bus Terminal. Wouldn't hesitate to book again. Bill and Christine, Auckland

Room Tip: Front apartments with Beach view were the most expensive but well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Bill and Christine

Thrilled to hear that enjoyed your stay in our Waterfront Suites and will be back one day. Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Breakwater Motel.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The perfect place to stay in Paihia! I booked this having read wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
Straight away, I received a friendly reply from Lyn at Breakwater Motel answering my request to book a Dolphin Viewing Boat trip. Then upon checking in, Lyn was wonderful, friendly and full of local knowledge.
We are a family with 3 kids (14,11 & 10 yrs) and the accomodation was perfect as we only needed 1 suite. it consisted of a well equipped modern kitchen and dining area, lounge which had a modern sofa bed and a single bed. The master bedroom had 2 beds with a lovely modern bathroom. it was all spotlessly clean and everything had been thought of. if you book a ground floor suite like we did, then you have a great outdoor patio with a large table and chairs.
my husband and the kids took advantage of the hot tub too!
I really liked the location as it is very close to the pier and in my opinion the nicer end of town but the great thing is that everything is within walking distance.
The first night we ate st Shippey's which is at the other end of the beach front - a restaurant in an old converted ship which is very popular with the locals and good value!
On our second night we ate in Al Fresco's, just past the church as you turn right out of Breakwater Motel. It was fabulous! Also, great value!
We took the ferry to Russel Island which is lovely too and full of history. Then the same company collected us from there to go on the Doplhin tour. I would highly recommend to choose Fullers Eco trip! At high season, I would book in advance if you want a morning trip.
Wish we could have stayed longer but we were staying with friends near Auckland and seeing as much as we could during our stay.
A little tip..... drive up to the forrest on your way to Paihia to see the beautiful huge trees which have several short and long hikes.
We found Bay of Islands to be one of our favourite spots.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor room to have access straight out to a lovely decking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola121099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi Nicola121099

Thanks so much for your wonderful extensive review of our motel and for mentioning the local restaurants and tour operator. We are really happy that everything met your requirements and that the Bay of Islands has created a wonderful memory for your and your family.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a great apartment with views of the bay. Close to all amenities but away from the crowd at the same time. The apartment had everything you need and a laundrette on site. Never had time to use the hot tub but it looked clean and in good working order. Restaurants near by we're good to excellent. Staff at breakwater friendly and could not do enough for you. We had two large screen TvS with Sky. Overall excellent will defiantly go back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GBawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear GBawler

We really appreciate your wonderful review and we certainly look forward to welcoming back to the beautiful Bay of Islands.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing