We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Breakwater Hotel with my family who were visiting from the UK. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped with lovely views. The motel is within walking distance of the shops and restaurants of Paihia. The service was great and I was suprised with a bottle of wine as a birthday gift which I was really touched by. They also helped to organise the fishing trip for the boys the folowing day and book our restaurant for that evening. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephmacmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Stephmcmillan

Many thanks for the fabulous review and delighted that you enjoyed our modern Waterfront suites that share that extra special view of the ocean.

Such a pleasure to assist with recommendations and bookings for the activities etc offered in the area thereby ensuring our guests maximize their time in Paihia.

Hopefully one day we will host the Scottish gathering once more!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    122
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
101
403
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had decided to wind-up our New Zealand holiday at Paihia in the Bay of Islands without knowing where to stay. On the road we met a couple of fellow travellers who highly recommended the Breakwater and further research confirmed their view. Arriving one day early, we dropped in to see if we could get another night. Our hosts could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Confirming local bookings, providing towels for our day sailing and a room upgrade, we were thoroughly impressed with the service and hospitality. The room was clean, well equipped and had an amazing view. The perfect location to relax and/ or launch into the variety of local attractions and dining venues. Just a short stroll to restaurants, pier. Free wi-fi.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are definitely worth considering. TV in both lounge area and bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Hi Paul N

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful Paihia. Word of mouth is certainly the best marketing tool so thanks to the past guests who recommended us and to you for sharing your experience at Breakwater Motel.

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Absolutely Superb. All the way from the Scottish Highlands for an 'Autumn Break' with our family and to be met with hospitality second to none from Sue & Ken. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, nothing and I mean nothing was too much for these hosts. Fishing trip - arranged, evening meals- booked, free wifi, super comfortable accommodation, all our needs catered for in this beautiful town in the far north. Five stars without a shadow of doubt.
PS - thanks for the unexpected and touching gift for Steph's birthday

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murdo428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Murdo428

We are absolutely delighted that you and your family had a memorable stay at Breakwater Motel. What a pleasure to host a family gathering and thank you so much for sharing your experience. We do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand.

We hope that we can welcome to you back to the Southern Hemisphere again.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our welcome at the Breakwater Motel was very friendly, offering excellent advice about what we could do during our stay. Our apartment had lovely decor, extremely clean and comfortable with a balcony with a view of the sea; the kitchen was well equipped. Free wifi is a bonus. The location is excellent, opposite the beach, short walk to both the pier for ferries and the shops and restaurants. Really recommend visiting the Waitangi Treaty Grounds, 5min drive from the motel, the history of the early years of New Zealand is fascinating and the best cultural experience that we saw throughout our time in New Zealand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Wendy F

Thank you for sharing your experience at Breakwater Motel. We are happy that enjoyed our well appointed suites and the great location opposite the beach.

Waitangi Treaty Ground is New Zealand's most historic site therefore a 'must see' for all visitors.
The cultural performance is professional, interactive and most informative.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Second time staying,no complaints atall really,room en suite kitchen/living area lovely.great location,prking reserved outside each unit.the only complaint we would have is at $180 for one night with checkout at 10 am,youd expext prehaps mini bar facilities or a spa bath? These are hotel prices and this is a motel,a nice one but still a motel.after we had checked in we went for a drive through the town and saw at least 3 places that looked very nice and central offering 3 nights for $199 ouch.felt a bit ripped off.will shop around next time.if you get a front unit be careful because with the sea view comes a lot of traffic noise.also the owners are very nice to deal with.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi LisaO

Thanks for your review albeit strange. We find it interesting that you chose to stay with us and not a hotel, if you knew from a previous stay that we do not offer mini bar facilities and the check out time is 10am and those were your requirements? 10am is standard check out time in most motels. We do have units with a spa bath plus we do have a fabulous outdoor hydrotherapy hot spa nestled under thatch.

Next time you are in Paihia I suggest you investigate the $199 deals you refer to. You certainly cannot compare a luxury yacht with a dinghy!

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hosts are nice and friendly/helpful. Lovely big rooms that are nice and clean, shower had good water pressure. TV easy to use. Nice and quiet units down the back, no street noise at all. Walking distance to the shops and eateries. Would stay here again, nicely priced for its location

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron4611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Cameron K

Great to have feedback from a business guest - thank you.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the quiet spacious unit which is compulsory for business guests, and that you found pricing is good given our prime Waterfront location.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next business trip.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

While touring the Bay of Islands we came upon the Breakwater Motel. From the moment we entered the office to inquiry of availability to the moment we left the staff was very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The one bedroom unit with a view was perfect. I can truly say that it was sparkling clean from the bedroom, to the living area to the new modern kitchen. Perhaps the cleanest place we have ever stayed. Loved the floors in the bathroon...toasty warm....what a treat! We only wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Grouond floor, view of the bay was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyoung95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear CYoung 95

We are so glad that you found Breakwater Motel - an oasis in the desert!

Thanks for your feedback on the 'sparking clean' unit and to be honest this is a comment we repeatedly hear from our guests. Some guests even ask us 'how do you get your showers SO clean'! We are very proud of our motel and of our housekeeping team too.

We have the unique feature of underfloor heating in our bathrooms in our Waterfront and Seaview suites and have to agree with you it certainly is a treat!

We would love to welcome you again for a longer stay.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing