We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great size room for our family of 5.”
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights. The reception was very welcoming. 2 of our daughters had their own beds but ended up sleeping with each other. I was nice to use an updated kitchen to cook some food.
My husband & I stayed here 5 years ago when we got married. At that time it need a major remodeling. They did a great job on remodeling.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarsinOhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi KarsinOhana

Thanks for your lovely review. Great to have positive feedback from a family and that you enjoyed our spacious Seaview Suite with the luxurious kitchen.

The total refurbishment was completed in April 2012 and a 100% improvement to when you were here 5 years ago celebrating your marriage.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 651 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in Paihai at Breakwater Motels for 5 nights at the end of September.What a beautiful location and motel.It was faultless,our room was spotlessly clean ,beautifully appointed modern and large with an amazing views across the bay.Free internet access and a huge range of sky channels to choose from was useful when we where not out and about exploring this beautiful part of our country.
We were within 2 minutes walking distance to wonderful cafes and all the starting points for the main attractions.
Lyn was such a lovely host and gave us some great tips on where to eat and things to do , her staff who serviced the rooms where all such lovely helpful people also.
Having such top class accommodation and wonderful hosts helped make our trip very memorable.
Thank you we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs corner room at the fro of the complex with an amazing vista across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Gordon B

Thanks you so much for sharing your memorable stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our top class accommodation and that breathtaking view of the ocean.

We look forward to hosting you again in the Sunny Winterless North!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I really don't know where to start here. Stayed for 6 nights in the waterfront suite which was great, remarkably clean, very modern and yet not overdone. It works.

Even little things like the choice of wall hangings adds to the overall niceness to the place. Not to mention came with a great view of the waterfront. Outside the front gardens were well maintained, lawns nicely mowed. Even the blue/yellow flowers helped bring the theme of the place together.
Location wise is, again great. It's about a 3 minute walk to the shops which isn't much at all given you're walking along the waterfront.

In fact the only thing I could possibly think of about that could be improved (and I'm clutching at straws here) is the chairs aren't really suited for sitting on for a prolonged period of time. However I countered this by using the couch, or laying on the bed. It's no problem but if you're looking for something to improve on, maybe look at that.

Anyway both Ken and Lyn are great hosts, were very accommodating and with their help, advice, even general chit-chat have made this holiday a memorable one. I'd love to return to Paihia, and would certainly return here.

Room Tip: Choose one with a view of the beach, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Damien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi 1Damien

It was such a pleasure to host you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks for taking the time to provide such positive detailed feedback on the suites, the awesome views and the great location. Also for the wonderful comments on our garden which we so enjoy working in and makes it so worthwhile when you hear that it is appreciated.

Hope to see you back next year for your break in the Bay of Islands.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a great experience for my sister and I we had an excellent time the accommodation was so clean the staff couldn't help enough the towns people were delightful I had not done internet overseas before and the staff helped us and couldn't do enough this is a place I will go back to many times loved the experience thank you to all of the staff

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Heather H

Thanks for taking the time to review our Motel and happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodation. I will certainly pass on your thanks to our housekeeping staff who take great pride in presenting such clean rooms.

We would love to welcome you back again!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here with my sister and her 3 children. However there was a mix up with the last night's payment. My husband settled the bill the day before, but due to a mistake made by one of the workers Ken the manager was led to believe we left without paying. As a result he charged my sister's credit card without notifying us (or my sister). We are very disappointed as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi Luckymolly

Thanks for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad that you and your sister's family enjoyed your stay.

We do sincerely apologise for the misunderstanding of the payment. We certainly did email your sister prior to processing the payment as we had her credit card as security over both bookings. On receipt of your query we immediately rectified the situation by reimbursing the credit card part of the payment as there was still a substantial shortfall in your payment.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a fabulous experience we had here. The management, Lyn and Ken Shepstone, couldn't have been nicer from the moment we arrived, assisting us with location of food places, still open, at our very late hour of arrival, as well as having stayed up to greet us and check us into our wonderful room. (We took the long road from Auckland up the west coast and got delayed by several hours). The room was perfect and we awoke to a fabulous view of the Bay of Islands in the morning. The beautifully modern and nicely appointed room (or rooms) had everything - bedroom, bathroom, lounge room/kitchen/dining and access at the front to the beach, and rear access to the office and car parking.
The location was great, within easy walking distance of all that we needed, as well as being in close proximity, by car, to many local attractions and eating places too. And even though there was a road between our private grassed area and the bay, we never heard any road noise and slept very soundly in our wonderfully comfortable bed.
Lyn and Ken suggested eating places and local attractions, much of which we used or saw. They had lots of brochures and maps to supply all the information we needed.
We should mention a couple of must do activities. Firstly a trip to the bay of Islands, by boat or, as we did it, by helicopter. We did opt for the top of the line trip with Salt (just next to the Ferry Pier), and loved every minute of it, doing the Coastal Discovery, Hole in the Rock, The cultural Tour on top of the Rock once we landed there, and a return Scenic Flight back over the rest of the Bay of Islands. Fabulous. And later that day we took a ferry across to Russell, investigating the history and local shops and buildings, stopping at the Duke of Marlborough pub for salt and pepper calamari and a long cool drink as twilight settled in, then catching the last ferry back 'home' to the wonderful Breakwater Motel.
Thank you Lyn and Ken for making our stay so memorable. We just love New Zealand and especially the Bay of Islands. We'll be back and we will definitely be booking a water view room again at the breakwater Motel. Just Excellent !!! Thank you.
Greg & Di J from NSW

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor rooms 1 to 4. We loved the view onto the Bay of Islands from our bedroom, loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Hi Greg and DiJ

Wow thanks for the glowing detailed review and we so pleased that you had such a memorable stay.

Your feedback is a great reference for fellow travellers for our motel and what the Bay of Islands has to offer, reitterating the reasons to schedule at least 2 nights in Paihia. So often we hear guests on their departure just wishing that they could have stayed longer!

We look forward to hosting you again in Number 4!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Thanks Ken and Lyn for another fantastic stay. Everything about your motel is great and there wouldn't be a dud room in the place!!! The rooms we had this year still had a lovely view and even with the road being close, there was no traffic noise. Looking forward to returning again next year :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hi Pam399

What a pleasure to welcome you back and delighted to hear that once again you had a great stay at Breakwater Motel.

Thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Breakwater Motel next year!

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $121 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites with private balconies/patios, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi. Airconditioned/heating. Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing