We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are very warm and professional”
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
“They are very warm and professional”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I like the stay very much , the room is very cosy , the toiletries especially the towels are clean and white that give us a good feeling of the whole place is very clean. The use of the laundry is simple and no hassle

I am going back next year Oct to stay for more nights.

Room Tip: Good view for sun rise and sun set
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Eileen WW

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at Breakwater Motel. The Waterfront Suites offer the ultimate view of the sunrise across the Bay, either from the living area, balcony, garden or the comfort of your bed.

The laundry is a wonderful convenience for guests plus we have library/book exchange in the laundry and sofa couch for you to relax on if you so wish.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Breakwater Motel in October 2014.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    123
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
103
413
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Second time to stay here in a year and I love it ! Ken and Lyn are so accomodating and the facilities are just excellent. So close to the restaurants etc. Lovely hot tub, and the rooms are just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi DavidM

Great to welcome you back to Breakwater Motel. Glad you enjoyed our fabulous new Hydrotherapy Hot Spa nestled under thatch - our guests love it and really exhilarating being outdoors in a toasty 38 degrees on a chilly evening!

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobin, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As we booked online we only had photos to guide us and really didn't know what to expect.
We were pleasantly surprised at the finish and layout of garden villa although the so called garden views were a let down. The owners were very welcoming. The location to the shops and wharf were within close proximity. Overall we were quite satisified and would consider this Motel for a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Sue C

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We understand your comments re the garden view. We have addressed this description error on numerous occasions with the agent concerned but due to their translation they continue to retain the incorrect information. Unfortunately we are unable to manually amend the details. I have once again advised them of your comments and the absolute necessity to amend the description with immediate effect.

The details on our own website are accurate with recent photos of the suite.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again the future.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked online so had no idea what the motel would be like. When we arrived we were greeted by the owners and received very friendly and helpful service. The room looked brand new and as if we were the first guests to stay in it. It had everything you could wish for. It was extremely clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay again and recommend this motel as a great place to stay. The location is also very handy to all amenities and the seaward rooms have great views. Thanks!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LiseyLou2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi LisaH

Thanks for the wonderful feedback following your recent stay at Breakwater Motel. Appreciate you noting that our units are immaculate and look the same as the day they were refurbished in April 2012, as we "Spring Clean" after each guest as we are Super Proud of our Motel!

The views of the ocean from the Waterfront Suites certainly makes guests smile.

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We drove into Paihia without a booking and drove past the Breakwater hotel as it is on the waterfront and we thought it would be too expensive for us but after driving around we came back to it to see a sign advertising a special for three nights so we inquired. We met Ken one of the owners who FORTUNATELY told us the specials were all gone but showed us a unit overlooking the water for marginally more cost and boy are we glad the specials were gone.
The unit was superbly fitted out (5 star). You enter into the kitchenette which has microwave, two hot plates coffee/tea making facilities. Plenty of cooking utensils and spotlessly clean. Coffee, a variety of teas, biscuits are provided.
There is a small dining table with four chairs adjacent to the kitchen. This then leads onto a lounge area with a comfortable three seater sofa and two chairs. Flat screen TV with sky channels are in the lounge and bedroom
The bedroom is compact but with the most comfortable bed and pillows that I have tried for a long long time (did not want to get out of bed in the morning it was so comfortable).
The lounge leads to an outside small patio area with chairs overlooking a grassed area to a magnificent view over the water and the wharf.
The units have been tastefully refurbished and I believe are the equivalent of 5 star for 2 star budget.
You would have to be crazy not the check this property out if you are staying Paihi.
There is a hot spa available if you so wish

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi MicknOlga

Greetings from Breakwater Motel! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had such a memorable stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience in such detail.

Yes all the boxes have certainly been ticked in the suites to ensure a great stay and the beds are BRAND NEW!

You have certainly reiterated why we are so proud to show each guest to their unit on arrival, as invariably as they enter the suite we are greeted with a "WOW"!

We certainly do hope to see you again in the Bay one day.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and had a very warm welcome by owners who let us review the rooms so that we could choose the ones that fit best for us (being a family of five). The rooms all were in a perfect status and we chose the ones with a perfect view on the bay. Great morning in spacious rooms, free wifi and very helpful owners made the stay a perfect Weekend stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Thomas S

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your spacious accommodation and the stunning view of the ocean. We certainly do take pride in our motel an appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Bay one day.

Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our son and his girlfriend came over from England and we wanted to give them a taste of Paihia. We booked two, one bedroomed, first floor units which were right next door to each other. The views from the units were fantastic, they were clean, nicely decorated and well equipped. Breakwater motel is so close to everything in Paihia that we just left the car and walked for the two days we were there. We would highly recommend the accommodation and the staff, who were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sara

Thank you for sharing your experience at Breakwater Motel. It was wonderful to welcome your family gathering and we are thrilled to hear you all had a great time. It certainly is a bonus being so close to everything that you don't need to use your car as you mentioned.

The Seaview suites are ideal for families as they are spacious and still do have a great view of the ocean.

Look forward to seeing your family back again.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing