We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My colleagues and I had been at a conference in Auckland for the week and decided to check out the Bay of Islands before travelling back to Australia. I would highly recommend the Breakwater Motel. Spotlessly clean. Great service and value and well appointed. Couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Kirsten

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Breakwater Motel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    110
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
90
363
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lyn and Ken were absolutely wonderful hosts, very hospitable and friendly. Went over and above expectations.
The room and view was an absolute sensation, I particularly liked that the 'make up' bath cloth was a biege/ brown colour instead of white (as I feel bad when I leave make up stains on white towels at accomodation places!).
Had everything we could possibly need for our stay.
The spa was absolute bliss, a great way to end the day.
Very close to all the great attractions of Paihia, right on the beach, near the ferry to Russell, close to the Waitangi ground and Haruru falls, and the Paihia trail walks. Didn't need to use our vehicle for the entire stay, which was fantastic!
We left a couple of items behind, and they got in contact with us to let us know before we left Paihia, which I've never come across before, which was exceptionally well received from our end.
Will definitely come back to visit during summer!

Room Tip: We chose a water front suite, which had such a peaceful, gorgeous view. Would definitely recommend s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Courtney

We take such pride in the service we provide, and truly appreciate you sharing your great feedback.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your getaway and all the wonderful attractions the Bay has to offer.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Breakwater Motel.

Kind Regards
Ken and Lyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Aroha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, great location as restaurants and shopping within walking distance. Lovely room very clean, quiet and had everything you'd need with a great view of the water. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie123124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Debbie

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your stay.

Delighted to hear that the room met all your needs plus you got to enjoy that beautiful ocean view. We certainly do have a great location, right on the waterfront and close enough to the restaurants and cafes and away from any noise.

Kind Regards
Lyn and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

stayed here 2 nights with my partner for a weekend away. had a top room with a view of the bay very nice it was close walking distance from shops and our fishing charter bed was comfortable shower was nice after a day on the water very good for money considering the location and the types of property in the area. recommend this place to any 1 wanting to stay in the bay.

Room Tip: get a room on top story over looking the bay very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyandjono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hi Tracy and Jono

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback and for the recommendation. Yes the Waterfront Suites do have a magnificient view across the bay! Delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Lyn and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights it was an excellent location, everything was only a short walk away. Our room overlooked the bay - stunning view. The room itself was modern. clean and very comfortable. Great service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi CatherineC
Thanks for coming to spend time with us in this beautiful part of New Zealand. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Breakwater Motel.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Lyn and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this motel for 2 nights and it was fantastic. Modern, clean and roomy. Our room had a fabulous view of the bay and we did not find the traffic noise a problem. We were in walking distance to restaurants and shops. Highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamholidays25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Dreamholidays25

Thanks for giving us a high recommendation and glad you enjoyed that spectacular ocean view from your suite. We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Lyn and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here in june 2013. Excellent location close to all restaurants, tours and shops. And bay
Is across the road. I stayed n the garden view room. This was up the top part of the property which was nice and quiet.
Very clean, modern facilities.
Loved the heated towel rail , electric blankets! Nice personal touch. Especially in winter!!
Hosts ken & lyn are very friendly, helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.

We only stayed in paihia 2 days but stay longer if you can, their is so much to do.
Would defiantly come back and stay here. Very enjoyable. Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mj_phill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, General Manager at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Many thanks for the great review on our 1 bedroom Garden View Room and appreciating the value of these units. Although they do not have the seaview, they are special in that you enjoy the tranquility of their location and being nestled near the native bush you are treated to the amazing sounds of the birds.

Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and yes we do agree, that there is so much to do in the Beautiful Bay of Islands you could spend weeks here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
9.0 mi away
Kauri Park Motel
Kauri Park Motel
#1 of 16 in Kerikeri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing