We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our unit was clean, tidy and so updated and what a comfortable bed, the bathroom was such a luxury, one we havn't seen like this in years of travelling. The view was breath taking, the owners were helpful, also my husband was so thrilled when they asked him if he wanted trim or blue top milk! yup u just get one type normally at other hotels.
Unit was warm and cosy.

Thank you so much, we will be back...you can count on that

Room Tip: The water front units are great, no noise and we were on the bottom floor. I think you will find all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula Maree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    106
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
89
331
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed two nights at Breakwater in Paihia, Bay of Island, New Zealand. While visiting brother and family for the purpose of my niece's grad. in Sydney. Had two week stay in Auckland and took the opportunity to visit Bay of Islands again, since we hadn't been in about 10 years. My husband and I booked a seaview room. What a great spot...overlooking the bay, Restaurants, the marina were just a short walk, and although we did not do any sea faring activities as before, there are many to choose from. Visited the Waitangi Treaty Grounds on the fist sunny morning and were more than pleasantly surprised on the improvement. A troupe of Maori singers and dancers greeted us in an interactive display of peace offering. They were both skilled and entertaining. If you go in the summer, stay longer and do some of the boat tours...Hole in the Rock, ferry to Russel, Dolphin watch, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne19511231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Pahia the weekend after Anzac Day during a tour of the north. We were a party of 4 stopping for just the one night before our return to work.

The motel was immaculately decorated and units were very clean on arrival. The spa gave a nice relief and relaxation after a couple days camping.

The only let down of our stay was the booking and extras we had to pay on arrival. We used a booking agent directly through trip advisor and paid up front. We clearly stated on the booking form we were a party of 4 and paid on the credit card a sum $225. Upon arrival the owner complained that this booking agent hadn't sent the correct sum then asked if we realised we were sending money overseas using this site! I'm sure using trip advisor and it's partners benefits this motel! We were subsequently asked to pay extra. I would recommend working with the booking agents to make the costs flow through correctly!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

During many weeks of travelling around New Zealand we stayed at the Breakwater Motel, Piahia and having stayed in many motels, this one was beyond our expectations, with an appartment overlooking the Bay. The appartment was well equipped and spotlless. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who made it a memorable break for us both. They shared their knowledge of places to visit and where to get good meals. Having been to Piahia a couple of years ago how did we not find this superb motel on that occasion.

Room Tip: If you want one where it is only across the road to the beach, ensure you let the proprietors know a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanB145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerBW1, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Hullo Alan B

Thanks for taking the time to do a review on our piece of Paradise. It is great to hear you have seen a good part of our country and have enjoyed Paihia before.

It gives us so much pleasure to read positives about our Motel and the suites we are so proud of. We also enjoy having nice guests who take notice and enjoy the advice we give, then come back with such positive responses.

There is such a load of things and activities to do here in the Bay for all ages and interests, we can certainly suggest ways to fill your days.

Once again thanks for staying with us and we would love to welcome you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

To start with, this place is not new but an older motel with a refurbishment and it shows.On arrival we were immediately asked to pay, not just take a credit card swipe. On asking for a morning paper, we were told that we'd have to get one ourselves by walking down to the local shop. On being shown our room, we were dismayed to find we were in a ground floor unit, despite specifically asking for a first floor one. Our fears were answered when we had a family upstairs clonking around evenings and mornings on both days. The outside area bordered on to a lawn which was littered with cigarette butt ends, outside furniture was two chairs but no table, had to use the coffee table from inside. To be fair, the units were very clean and well appointed and the view with sunrise over the bay unforgettable and road noise was not a problem. Pricewise, this place is over the top. We had enquired earlier about a GrabOne deal but were told that for this we would only get a garden unit with a view of the carpark. However, talking to a fellow guest we found that they were on a GrabOne deal and had a first floor unit overlooking the bay while we were paying rack rate for the same.We left feeling disappointed.

Room Tip: To get value for money, turn up off the street, as it appears they will negotiate down to fill the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cambridge20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette S, Owner at Breakwater Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Cambridge20

Thanks for taking the time to do a review on our Motel. As an ex motelier you are bound to have an "expert" opinion on everything as we can see by your other reviews.

You are right about the motel being older and refurbished to a high standard. The exterior photos show that on our website.

As an ex motelier you should know that the New Zealand Motel Association is asking everyone to charge their guests at check in to avoid the problem of runaway guests. As we do not discriminate everyone is treated courteously the same.

No we do not supply a morning paper in the interest of being eco friendly (as stated in our compendium) however we can deliver on request as we have previously done for other guests.

There was still a choice of a first floor suites and had you requested one at the time of being shown your suite we would have happily upgraded you as we have done for other guests, rather than for you to wait to get home to tell us.

The rate you negotiated was for 5 nights and then you only booked for 2 nights. We upheld the price that was quoted for 5 out of good faith. This rate was more than fair for the autumn season for a location and suite such as ours. If you had stayed somewhere cheaper you would have enjoyed your time in Paihia a lot less as you get what you pay for in Paihia.

We had run two GrabOne deals, an earlier one for Waterfront suites and when you enquired we were running them for Seaview suites, never garden views like you mentioned. You will also find airlines run specials one day and not the next, just like supermarkets do.

As you are first complaint in 12 months and you sound so aggrieved and angry, we would be happy to arrange a refund if you make contact with us at the motel.

We also apologise for the inconsideration of the smokers. We do provide ashtrays for every suite but cannot force people to use them as you would know as an ex motelier.

Please read some of our previous reviews as there are very happy people who stay with us that are seasoned travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

During our many months of travelling in New Zealand, we've collected quite some experience with motels. 9 out of 10 cities don't have a motel that is worth a recommendation, but Paihia definitely has.

There is absolutely nothing to complain about the Breakwater Motel. It's new and clean. The shower really gives water, so does the tap at the basin. The fridge is on an acceptable noise level. All of the numerous TV channels have a strong signal. 200 MB internet is included. There is not a single broken cupboard corner, handle or anything like that. The hosts are friendly and helpful. It's located within a 5 minutes walk from town center.

But the price level isn't really higher than the average low-quality New Zealand motel.

This is how motels should be. Awesome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZLongTermTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We happened to pull up to this place at the beginning of our search for a place to stay for a few nights in Paihia. Two of the benefits of shoulder seasons were a) they had plenty of open rooms and b) they had a walk-up special that was $30 below their lowest advertised price. The kitchenette was well furnished and we were able to make simple meals in the room without any problem. We had one of the one bedroom suites that didn't face the water (those were a bit pricier, obviously). The owners and office staff were very helpful, even helping me scan in work documents to email home. They also have 200 MB of WiFi data free per night of stay. The location is perfect, just past the main drag (which makes it a little quieter, though it was the shoulder season and pretty quiet anyway) and across the street from the water. We went running from the motel each morning out to the Treaty Grounds and it took ~15 minutes each way. All of the restaurants, cruises, kayak rentals, etc are a short walk away. Housekeeping went above and beyond (and I felt guilty about this) by going as far as doing the dishes we left in the sink one of the days. I would definitely feel comfortable recommending this place and would stay there again on a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a two minute flat walk to cafes, restuarants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Unlimited Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing