We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in October for four nights with friends. Have finally found a bit of time to write a review. This is an excellent motel in one of my favourite spots in New Zealand. The Breakwater is very close to everything in Paihia, the facilities are pristine and the service is very friendly and knowledgeable. I have stayed in Paihia many times in the past ten years and would now not stay anywhere else other than the Breakwater. Thanks Lynn and Ken for a fantastic time, we will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Burger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    110
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
91
363
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I decided on a last minute trip from Auckland to Paihia over Christmas/New Year and most properties were booked.

We found this one on Wotif and it ticked all the boxes and seemed to do the trick

Reception was very friendly and the recently renovated room was very nicely presented.

Separate bedroom with a comfortable pullout bed in the lounger area. Large bathroom (shower only) was clean and tidy with nice soaps

There's a small kitchen area where you can do some light cooking but they ask you not to cook anything "odiferous" like fish - which is reasonable I guess but as many people catch fish in this region, it's a bit limiting.

Quick walk to main pier and restaurants as well as Waitangi. This also meant there was a lot of foot traffic outside the room's beach views.

The only thing preventing me from giving a higher rating is value for money. The room rate was too high (in my mind) for what you got, but what you got was nice.

Room Tip: The higher water view rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights prior to a long journey back to UK. What a lovely location with marvellous views across the bay and just a few minutes from the centre of Paihia. Very high quality accommodation and friendly owners who gave useful recommendations on where to eat etc. Rooms 5 & 6 had access to a rear lawned area looking across the bay, a wonderful place to sit and soak up the atmosphere with whatever liquid one prefers. A first class establishment and one to be recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MikeBSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent location on the waterfront, easy walk to shops, cafe's, restaurants & the ferry wharf. Room immaculate, modern & clean, great views from our front top floor corner room. On arrival Lyn provided us with information on where to go, what to see & where to eat. Lyn & Ken very helpful & friendly. Lyn went beyond the normal call of duty to assist me to fix a mobile phone problem when I accidently locked my wife's phone. Would loved to have stayed there longer & highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Paihia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Breakwater has a fabulous location. It has recently been completely renovated to very high standards. Sitting on the verandah looking over the bay was simply delightful. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the ferry and all of the restaurants in Paihia. If you want a handy location with great views and top quality accommodation you need look no further.

Room Tip: We had a Seaview room which I would recommend if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelfastBoy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days on our honeymoon. On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a seaview. The unit was amazing and decor very up to date. Lovely hosts. Unit was quiet and not affected by road noise. Reception helpful with tourist attractions and encouraged you to explore the area Overall an amazing stay Highly recommend this motel

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janandryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had front room for 3 days , loved it , was unwell at the time but it was very relaxing and recuperrrated well . Quiet , elevated room with a fantastic view from the bedroom , overlooking the garden and across to the bay. Saw the cruise ships, ate out, and cooked breakie. Was welcomed to leave car at the Motel and put our milk and fruit in the fridge while we enjoyed an overnight cruise. Loved the apt. Woulsd certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a guided tour, we liked our front room, thought it might have road noise, but not an issue a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Suites Paihia
Ramada Suites Paihia
#22 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Property: Breakwater Motel
Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi.Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing