We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location & high quality accommodation”
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights prior to a long journey back to UK. What a lovely location with marvellous views across the bay and just a few minutes from the centre of Paihia. Very high quality accommodation and friendly owners who gave useful recommendations on where to eat etc. Rooms 5 & 6 had access to a rear lawned area looking across the bay, a wonderful place to sit and soak up the atmosphere with whatever liquid one prefers. A first class establishment and one to be recommended.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank MikeBSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 635 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent location on the waterfront, easy walk to shops, cafe's, restaurants & the ferry wharf. Room immaculate, modern & clean, great views from our front top floor corner room. On arrival Lyn provided us with information on where to go, what to see & where to eat. Lyn & Ken very helpful & friendly. Lyn went beyond the normal call of duty to assist me to fix a mobile phone problem when I accidently locked my wife's phone. Would loved to have stayed there longer & highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in Paihia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianstev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Breakwater has a fabulous location. It has recently been completely renovated to very high standards. Sitting on the verandah looking over the bay was simply delightful. It is only a couple of minutes walk to the ferry and all of the restaurants in Paihia. If you want a handy location with great views and top quality accommodation you need look no further.

Room Tip: We had a Seaview room which I would recommend if one is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastBoy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days on our honeymoon. On arrival we found we had been upgraded to a seaview. The unit was amazing and decor very up to date. Lovely hosts. Unit was quiet and not affected by road noise. Reception helpful with tourist attractions and encouraged you to explore the area Overall an amazing stay Highly recommend this motel

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janandryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Had front room for 3 days , loved it , was unwell at the time but it was very relaxing and recuperrrated well . Quiet , elevated room with a fantastic view from the bedroom , overlooking the garden and across to the bay. Saw the cruise ships, ate out, and cooked breakie. Was welcomed to leave car at the Motel and put our milk and fruit in the fridge while we enjoyed an overnight cruise. Loved the apt. Woulsd certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a guided tour, we liked our front room, thought it might have road noise, but not an issue a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bruce b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I ended up staying here for 2 nights. The motel is in a great location, ideal for visiting the town. It is very easy to find when arriving. The rooms are a good size and provide you with everything you need should you want to cook. Bathrooms are book, and equipped with new fixtures and fittings. Nice bog television with Sky.

The owners were great. They were very attentive and helped me book my day trip. They were also interested to hear how it went so they could pass on advice to others. Also when I ran into problems with my keys they were very supportive and helpful. I cannot speak highly enough about them.

When I go back I will definitely be staying here.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khoyratty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had to stay in Paihia for the night to attend a friend's wedding and wanted something that was affordable. Well Breakwater was very well priced and I was greatly impressed at quality of the accomodation. It is well positioned and the main attractions are in easy reach of the motel. I would highly recommend Breakwater, the next time I have to stay in Paihia this motel will be first place I will look at staying in.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
Thank TDerby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $109 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites with private balconies/patios, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi. Airconditioned/heating. Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing