We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay, slice of paradise!!!”
Review of Breakwater Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Breakwater Motel
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Fantastic place to stay. So close to everything and so much to do in Paihia. Hosts Ken and Lyn were most helpful. Motel is like new!!! Have been telling everyone what a great place it is. Thanks Ken and Lyn, we will definitly be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a spacious, very clean room with sea views in this modern beautifully furnished motel. Our hosts Ken & Lyn were friendly and helpful. This recently refurbished motel is a must stay location, within easy walking to the wharf, shops, restaurants and of course, the beach. We had outdoor furniture and sun unbrella on the deck.This motel was so good, we added an extra night to our original booking!

Room Tip: We had a 1 bedroom with spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helentoner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

excellent motel...the standard of the room was excellent. On arrival was offered a choice of milk, free internet tokens and just a general all round nice welcome.
i was just very very impressed with the room and the attention to detail of all the items that were in the room.
the only down side i could think of was that it is hard to change the channel on the sky box (yes a sky box which i was really impressed with that it was there in the the first place) from the bedroom as the sky unit was in the sittingroom and there was a wall inbetween so some leaning out of the bed was required :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Last Minute booking for 2 nights in the idyllic town of Paihia, and without a doubt the best choice of motel we could have made! Welcomed by smiling faces, small touches including free internet tokens, newspaper and a preference of milk! perfect location in Paihia 5 mins from ferry terminal, personal car park spaces outside room a bonus!

Rooms were stunning, we took the studio apartment which was spacious, immaculately clean, extremely well equipped and furnished to the highest standard.

Will without a doubt be returning!

Many thanks!!

Thankyou so much for such a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mileseast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights duirng a recent trip to NZ. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and tidy and could not be faulted.

The facilities were very good and we used the guest laundry which is always helpful when travelling.

The rooms were warm and cozy and the view and was fantastic.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovecorvettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The location is superb, withing 5min walking distance from the ferry terminal and shops. Lying in bed, sitting on the coach or deck - the ocean views are superb - this is a jewel of the north island to which we keep coming back. We can recommend it 100%

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank RinaR123_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Friendly greeting and we appreciated being shown personally to our suite rather than a wave in the right direction. Lovely suite: light, clean, spacious and great decor. The bed was comfortable with plenty of extra pillows. Underfloor heating in the tiled areas was unexpected and blissful in August. Glad to see an electric blanket on the bed for the same reason. Heat pump also welcome. Close enough to walk to town, far enough away to be quiet. Lovely view across the water. Like the book exchange idea!Already planning our next stay there. Good value, lovely hosts, excellent suite and location.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor, and the view was good. A room on the top floor would have a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
2.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
1.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakwater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakwater Motel

Address: 1 Bayview Road | Bay of Islands, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#3 Business Hotel in Paihia
#5 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $108 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Breakwater Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Waterfront Accommodation on Central Paihia Waterfront that is only a three minute flat walk to cafes, restaurants, shops and Paihia Wharf where tours depart from.Spectacular interrupted ocean views from Waterfront Suites with private balconies/patios, partial sea views from Seaview Suites. Sky Guest Select 70 channels - Free WiFi. Airconditioned/heating. Paihia is the perfect base to explore the Bay of Islands and up to Cape Reinga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Breakwater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakwater Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing