We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waitangi Treaty Grounds”

Waitangi Treaty Grounds
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.80*
and up
Waitangi Treaty Grounds Day Pass
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waitangi Treaty Grounds, New Zealand's most important historic site, is where the Treaty of Waitangi was signed between the British Crown and the indigenous Maori in February 1840. Set on a stunning site overlooking the Bay of Islands, Waitangi is an absolute must-see for all visitors to the North, international and New Zealanders alike. Attractions include the historic Treaty House, a giant flagstaff, a unique fully carved Maori meeting house and the the world's largest single-hulled canoe (waka). Guided tours and cultural performances run at regular intervals throughout the day. Open daily except Christmas.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waitangi Treaty Grounds”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I just had my second experience in this wonderful place. Both times the experience brought me to tears. The grounds are beautiful and the cultural experience was different both times, and excellent! Wonderful talented performers who enjoy sharing their culture. The tour guide was very informative and personable. GREAT EXPERIENCE! A MUST DO!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,475
    891
    168
    37
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutly awesome”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My mum dragged me down as I'm visiting her from England and to be honest ..no I wasn't interested. But as a kiwi I was told I must see this if I'm over here.
Well I had to eat my words really, even though its the country's so called winter, I was still in short shorts, it was a lovely sunny day.
The views were spectacular.
We booked in for the one pm show, we got there a bit early but the man who sorts you out was really friendly and we had a chat. Usually in places your told to bugger off or they don't bother to speak to you at all.
At last one came around and just wow!!
In character from the start the girls and guys who perform were really 5 star. Including you in the show, but not in a cheesy way,
They did a range of traditional dance and song and after even stood around in their costumes for photos. And as locals they were freezing.

Very very good, if your ever in nz and up the north check this place out!!! Xx

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow not been here before was very impressed. So very well done”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The view as you walk out of the misson house is to die for.
The whole experince and knowledge available is just great.
Well done.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful vistas”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We took a leisurely walk through the grounds and took many photos of the beautiful scenery. It's on top of the hill where you get to see exactly why the region is called The Bay of Islands.
There is a giant waka (Maori canoe) that is worth seeing, along with historical buildings and the Maori meeting house.
Definitely worth a visit. (free to NZ citizens)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see in Pahia”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Beautiful setting; enthusiastic guide; fascinating history; don't miss the performance; easy walk from accommodation in Pahia

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitangi Treaty Grounds also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Waitangi Treaty Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing