We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss the Maori cultural show”

Waitangi Treaty Grounds
Book In Advance
More Info
$30.42*
and up
Waitangi Treaty Grounds Day Pass
More Info
$114.06*
and up
Shore Excursion: Bay of Islands Sightseeing Tour
More Info
$38.02*
and up
Bay of Islands Trike Tour from Paihia
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waitangi Treaty Grounds, New Zealand's most important historic site, is where the Treaty of Waitangi was signed between the British Crown and the indigenous Maori in February 1840. Set on a stunning site overlooking the Bay of Islands, Waitangi is an absolute must-see for all visitors to the North, international and New Zealanders alike. Attractions include the historic Treaty House, a giant flagstaff, a unique fully carved Maori meeting house and the the world's largest single-hulled canoe (waka). Guided tours and cultural performances run at regular intervals throughout the day. Open daily except Christmas.
Crawley, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do not miss the Maori cultural show”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Excellent experience all round. Make sure you pay the little bit extra to include the guided tour and the Maori cultural show. The latter is stunning. The performers are genuinely intimdating at first meeting, then thoroughly entertaining as the performance progressed. They were also genuinely friendly people. This is highly professional, NOT a naff touristy thing.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,526
    896
    170
    37
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burton-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
288 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were in the area and decided to go to the Waitangi Treaty Grounds (where the treaty with the Maoris was signed in 1840). We were a bit reluctant at first to pay the NZD25 per person, but we were very glad that we did. There was a lot of very interesting stuff to look at and the grounds are beautifully kept. The café served an excellent cup of tea, and it was interesting that a chicken wandered around our table while we were there (we also saw an eel in the pond).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interesting history lesson”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a very good and knowledgeable guide showing us around the area. He gave us a good mental picture about what happened when the white man came, the local Maoris established their own nation (with their own flag), the subsequent Waitangi treaty ceding sovereignty to Queen Victoria. To versions of the treaty, one in English, one in Maori - with quite different content. A blueprint for strife and war.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great place to visit for New Zealand history”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The open space was awesome, I really felt that I could imagine what happened originally. The Waka was amazing and authentic. You can spend as long as you like and it is free for New Zealand residents and citizens, that was a bonus.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank thomas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Entertaining History Lesson (in a great setting)”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our afternoon here. The location is spectacular, with fabulous views across the bay and worth a visit just for this BUT you must not miss the opportunity to learn something of the history. In my opinion the guided tour and cultural show are a MUST.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank phasmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waitangi Treaty Grounds also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Waitangi Treaty Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing