We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation and owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had spent a couple of days in Auckland then headed to Paihia for 3 days of a month long holiday of the North and South Islands. We had booked approx. 6 months before travelling as we were told February is the most popular holiday month of the year. We were greeted by a very friendly gentleman, I think Pel, he was very helpful. We had booked a one bed and were given 2 bed. The rooms were clean, great kitchen, and lovely comfortable bed. The balcony had a beautiful view over the Bay. We were within walking distance of main thoroughfare and beach. Sadly the weather was terrible, we had booked a boat trip through the manager out to "the hole in the rock" but the weather on the water was pretty wild so he kindly cancelled our trip, no problems. We did decide on our last day to take a ferry trip to Russell Island, the water was pretty rough but worth the trip. You worry sometimes when you book accommodation on line but I would recommend Admirals View to anyone. Great accommodation!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    71
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
161
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

A great stay in such a beautiful place. Very convenient for walking to the town area and bay. The manager, Craig, was extremely helpful and helped with booking trips. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 248Gillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

A comfortable and spacious cottage-style living. We stayed as a family of five and did not feel cramped. Amenities were outstanding; namely, free bike hire, free use of tennis courts, free wi-fi, free foxtel, free movie hire, and free beach towels. Basically, anything you asked for was covered. Nothing was too big an ask. The property was a five minute stroll from the breathtaking beach front. This was an idyllic seaside town, with accommodation to match. Very impressed; would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Admiral's View Lodge is centrally located at Paihia with views over the Bay of Islands. Restaurants and cafes are within walking distance of the Lodge. The units are modern, spacious, clean and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. Paihia is a base for fantastic tours, including, dolphins, seals and whales.

Room Tip: Units on the second floor have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a great motel and very reasonably priced. We had a ground floor studio which was very clean and a perfect size for the two of us. The kitchenette was very well equipped, they have really thought of everything. The bathroom is spacious, the bed is so comfy, and free unlimited wifi is a bonus. The owners are so friendly and keen to give recommendations for day trips and meals out. Great location-just a short walk to town. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieUK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights in mid-March. Right from driving in, we could tell parking would be an issue. Parking is quite tight and the other guests seem to not mind taking up 2 spaces. When we purchased the room over the internet, we were under the impression we would have a king size bed in the ground floor studio. Unfortunately, it had only a queen sized bed - this was quite an important factor for us. Having said that, the room was clean, large, had air-conditioning and unlimited wi-fi. The manager was also super friendly and made many sight-seeing suggestions.

Room Tip: Room 10 was a ground floor studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. You do make an important point about our king size beds, they are New Zealand king size beds and as such smaller than the oversized American, Australian and zip king beds. Unfortunately when booking through 3rd party websites such as Wotif they do not differentiate on the size of the king beds - the only choices are king or super king. Our website does advise bookers that the beds are NZ King.
Our motel is situated on the side of a hill, this gives us stunning views across the bay but also can make parking challenging for some people. We are more than happy to park cars for our guests and do monitor the car park, especially when near capacity to ensure that all cars are parked correctly. I believe on the day you had the parking issue we allowed you to use the access car park as we had no disabled users staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great service, but the cheaper room was pretty average whilst still being nice for an overnighter. The staff were super sensational, very helpful and friendly. The room we were in would probably rate as more of a 3 star room rather than a 4 1/2 star, but luckily our experience overall was pretty awesome.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a true 4 1/2 star experience we recommend not getting a ground level room, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristinbaylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for your honest review, we're glad you had an awesome time and the room did not ruin your stay with us. We agree our garden rooms are not part of the 4.5 star block and are sold as budget rooms with a price that reflects the value of the room. Unfortunately we do not have control of 3rd party websites such as Expedia who do not include this vital piece of information! We recommend guests take a look at our website for the full story or give us a call, we've always got time to chat and help you find the best room for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's View Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Property: Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Address: 2 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 4+star self-contained and serviced motel in a central location. Relax and enjoy the view to the sea from the sunny balcony or patio of most units. Admirals View Lodge is well located for walking to all your Paihia activities and attractions - plus tours pick up daily from the motel. We are close to the Paihia beach (only 1 block, 250m) but benefit from a peaceful location away from Paihia's main road. Let us help you plan your trip to see the Bay of Islands and the famous Hole in the Rock. Take a bus on an exciting journey to Cape Reinga or enjoy the thrill of swimming with dolphins. Enjoy a ferry ride to Romantic Russell or soak up the history at Waitangi Treaty Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing