We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Admirals Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Admirals Lodge”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were able to get a booking when we arrived in Paihia. The caretaker was very helpful. The place worked out perfectly for us, it had a walk in shower, a microwave, a fridge, WIFI, a TV. We stayed 2 nights and they changed the linen. It is a handy jumping off spot for Russell and the bay of islands and the Waitangi treaty signing grounds.

Room Tip: There are upstairs and downstairs suites. I use a cane or a walker and so need rooms with no stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
It was a pleasure having you to stay and glad we could accommodate your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    72
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
165
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craigellachie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2014. Could not fault service or room . Free wifi great when we had a wet day to catch up with emails etc. Location fine for centre and restaurants pubs and attractions. Would happily stay here again if back in Paihia . Would recommend walking to Waitangi it's a good walk but enjoyable. Only put 4/5 for value as being Scottish we have a reputation for being tightfisted.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your great review, we completely understand being Scottish you need to mark us down on value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for seven nights on our summer holiday. We were travelling with a nine month old. The rooms are very spacious so there was plenty of room for the portacot and high chair - all provided by the motel. We were a little concerned that the baby would wake other guests but were reassured by the sturdy concrete walls between suites.
Penny and Craig were fabulous hosts, were very knowledgeable and gave great advice. The motel is only a short walk from all the best sights of Paihia.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan3md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review, the Qualmark block was specifically built to reduce room-to-room noise and definitely makes for a quiet stay even with young children!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Here for two nights. Excellent manager George. Very clean rooms well maintained. Fast free wifi. Central location. Would recommend.

Good cooking facilities, nice balcony view from our room over town to Bay of Isles.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you Peter for your kind comments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our stay at the Admirals View Motel in Paihia was fantastic. The motel service is superior. A short walk to pubs, restaurants, adventure outings, and ferries. The owners are knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. Top value.
George & Dee

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septicgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you George & Dee for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Paihia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ex-UK now of Auckland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We first visited Admiral View Lodge around 2002 and it has been our must stay place whenever we take a vacation in the Bay of Islands. The accommodation is first rate. We had a studio which was tastefully furnished, clean and gave a view out across the bay from the patio. The motel is off the main front, but only minutes away from it and the main shopping area. We choose to stay here because for us it has a home from home feel about it. We recomm end a stay here and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed whatever you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerningguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation, it's always a pleasure having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend staying at this place. Craig and penny are extremely welcoming and very helpful with anything you need. It's a three minute walk to the beach and free access to a tennis court and bikes. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcampbell89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you so much for recommending Admiral's View!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's View Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Property: Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Address: 2 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 4+star self-contained and serviced motel in a central location. Relax and enjoy the view to the sea from the sunny balcony or patio of most units. Admirals View Lodge is well located for walking to all your Paihia activities and attractions - plus tours pick up daily from the motel. We are close to the Paihia beach (only 1 block, 250m) but benefit from a peaceful location away from Paihia's main road. Let us help you plan your trip to see the Bay of Islands and the famous Hole in the Rock. Take a bus on an exciting journey to Cape Reinga or enjoy the thrill of swimming with dolphins. Enjoy a ferry ride to Romantic Russell or soak up the history at Waitangi Treaty Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing