We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable and QUIET” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and QUIET”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having spent many years travelling for business and pleasure, this rates as possibly the best motel we have stayed at. Quiet, comfortable beds, serviceable kitchen and good lounge area (plenty of room to spread out and relax after work). Every time we have been to Paihia we stay with Admirals View, and will continue to do so in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John123874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    62
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
139
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at the Admiral's Lodge in one of the upstairs units with an inviting verandah overlooking the bay over in September. Spacious, handy kitchenette and friendly and helpful owners and staff made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. Excellent base for wandering the township and surrounds, visiting Waitingi, taking a glorious Bay of Islands cruise or touring further west and north. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with shared verandah looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetervdZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate you taking the time to pass on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I have travelled all over the world and this would have to be possibly the best motel we have ever stayed in. The location. facilities and service were great. The motel is approximately five minutes walk from the center of Paihia therfore handy to shops, restaurants and the Russell ferry. The provision of DVD ,Television recording and playback plus internet facilities leaves nothing to be desired. If you do not wish to eat out full cooking facilities are availabli in the units



corder inclubing

Room Tip: Ll rooms are excellent, see website for more details
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pussnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Wow, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I loved my stay at this hotel so much that I decided to stay an extra night! The management was helpful and though it rained during our stay, it was easy to get from place to place and not get soaked! The room was bigger than I expected and the spa bath was so great that it's the first thing I did after unpacking! I also appreciated the free wifi which was hard to come by during my travels. I would definitely go back and stay there in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Get a view of the water. Though there's structures between the hotel and the bay it's still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PanamaMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review, we try hard to make people feel welcome and at home and it is very nice of you to acknowledge our efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIRRAL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights over Easter and really enjoyed our stay. The owners were very friendly and helpful (one was pregnant and one is a scouser) and our room was very clean and comfortable and well fitted out. From our 1st floor shared balcony we had a view of Pihia and the beautiful Bay of Islands.
It was a very short walk to shops, restaurants and the pier for ferry bookings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: !st floor for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RICHARDP29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation! Our baby George is now 5 mths old, no doubt soon he will be helping out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed for five nights at the Admiral's View Lodge in Paihia. We had booked a studio room with a view but upgraded to a studio apartment with the spa bath and a GREAT view of the Bay. The room was very comfortable, extremely clean and comfortable. There was a small fridge, microwave and hotplate so you could cook a small meal if you so desired. The Manager was very nice on our arrival and the other staff were also very helpful.
This is good accommodation at a very good price and more than convenient in location to visit all the tourist places in the area. It is a short walk to the centre of town and the restaurants/cafes. Walking distance to the wharf for boat travel. I would certainly recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Within easy walking distance to the centre of town and all the restaurants etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTurnbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your time in Paihia and your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have arrived in Bay of Islands with no accommodation prebooked. We looked at 4 motels and the Admiral was an immediate 'yes' from the three of us having seen it last. It was clean, new, welcoming owners and beautiful views over the ocean. The motel offers all facilities you may need, on site launderette, high speed unlimited wifi, even bicycles!

The rooms are spacious, tidy and fresh. Air conditioned, big bathroom with a spa tub and separate shower cubicle. I have to say that having spent 3 weeks in various motels across both islands in New Zealand this one scores my top marks! Especially as I'm quite a demanding traveller being used to staying at Sheraton etc when holidaying overseas.

On my last day I forgot to pack a dress I left in the wardrobe. I contacted the owners asking whether they could post it to me to Auckland. To my surprise the owners got on to it straight away and offered to post it for free. This is a great customer service and I strongly recommend the Admiral as a place to stay in Bay of Islands. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Britishtourists3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review, my husband and I appreciate your comments. We endeavour to provide a room and service that we ourselves would be happy to receive and are pleased this enhanced your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's View Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Property: Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Address: 2 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 4+star self-contained and serviced motel in a central location. Relax and enjoy the view to the sea from the sunny balcony or patio of most units. Admirals View Lodge is well located for walking to all your Paihia activities and attractions - plus tours pick up daily from the motel. We are close to the Paihia beach (only 1 block, 250m) but benefit from a peaceful location away from Paihia's main road. Let us help you plan your trip to see the Bay of Islands and the famous Hole in the Rock. Take a bus on an exciting journey to Cape Reinga or enjoy the thrill of swimming with dolphins. Enjoy a ferry ride to Romantic Russell or soak up the history at Waitangi Treaty Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing