We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great lodge in Paihia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lodge in Paihia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is really nice. It is a five minute walk from town and two minute walk from the beach. The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. I was in room facing the bay and stayed there the night of December 31st. The room balcony was primely located for viewing the fire works. The fireworks display was amazing.
The owners are really nice people and gave me good tips on my onward travel and golfing in New Zealand. I forgot my sweater in the room and they even couriered it to my destination and sent me tracking info. (I paid for it of course but still it was very nice of them to so that for me).

The hot tub in the room was a plus.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balconies facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambuvant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments, it was a pleasure having you to stay and we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    61
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
133
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Admiral's View Lodge for 5 days this Christmas. Had 1 of the premium room's which had a private balcony and views looking towards Russell. Clean and spacious & Craig & Penny were great hosts. Great area to stay in and close to walking distance to everything including including the wharf to catch the ferry to Russell. There are also some local bush walks. Dine at the "Waterfront Restaurant" a 5 min walk away. Great food, good price's and views looking over the water

Room Tip: The 2 Premium rooms have the best views and are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Kay, thank you so much for your very positive feedback about your recent stay here at the motel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Regards Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was a really nice place to stay for a couple of days. The owners were friendly and accommodating of our late arrival after our flight was delayed.

The kitchenette is small but usable and the room was very comfortable. They provided free wifi access, and even loaned us a router to boost the strength of the signal to our room, which was a thoughtful touch.

The apartments are a short walk from the shops and tourist information, so it's a good base for trips into Russell or dolphin spotting.

If I return to Paihia, I'll come back to Admiral's View.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I was very pleased to read your very positive comments about your recent stay here at the motel. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Regards,
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My apartment was clean and warm with a big spa bath. The lodge is just a few minutes walk from the shops and cafes and beach,Penny was very helpful with info on where to visit and sight see.
All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Visit Shippeys for a great fish supper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brassman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penellie, Manager at Admiral's View Lodge & Motel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I was very pleased to read your very positive comments about your recent stay here at the motel. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
91 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My apartment was warm and clean, and the lodge is just a few minutes' walk from the beach and the shops. Everything about my stay was easy and comfortable. I really valued the helpful advice the owners offered about local facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Admirals Lodge over the weekend of the Keri Keri half marathon. Right from booking Craig and Penny were lovely and helpful. They provided a portacot and bedding for it.
My very inquisitive 2yr old was well tolerated even when he was 'helping' to clean the rooms.
The room was fantastic. It was great to have a kitchenette. The bathroom was fab, although next time ill be sure to book a room with a spa bath! Comfy beds too!
To top off the greatness, I left some stuff in our room and Penny had it sent down to Auckland. So grateful. Thank you!
Def will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicsholidayfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is Glynis from Kapiti 4 Seasons Tours. Our active senior group enjoyed two nights in this lovely complex, We used nine rooms, these included luxury rooms with fantastic view and private balconies, deluxe rooms with balconies. Upstairs was only about six steps from main reception as complex is against a hill. The lower area had three units including two, two bedroom units and a sunny patio where we all gathered for before dinner drinks...Trev and I had a two bedroom with lovely lounge so group could visit.
Our hosts Penny and Craig were very helpful and everyone enjoyed their stay. We were within walking distance of the Russell ferry and many restaurants. We had dinner at Tito's one night and Alfresco's the second night. We will make return visits for sure...

Room Tip: Stairs are shorter at the reception end of upstairs balcony so don't miss the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwiconnection2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral's View Lodge & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral's View Lodge & Motel

Property: Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Address: 2 Macmurray Road, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Paihia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Admiral's View Lodge & Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly 4+star self-contained and serviced motel in a central location. Relax and enjoy the view to the sea from the sunny balcony or patio of most units. Admirals View Lodge is well located for walking to all your Paihia activities and attractions - plus tours pick up daily from the motel. We are close to the Paihia beach (only 1 block, 250m) but benefit from a peaceful location away from Paihia's main road. Let us help you plan your trip to see the Bay of Islands and the famous Hole in the Rock. Take a bus on an exciting journey to Cape Reinga or enjoy the thrill of swimming with dolphins. Enjoy a ferry ride to Romantic Russell or soak up the history at Waitangi Treaty Grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Admiral's View Lodge & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals View Hotel
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing