We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Barbara is the women to see. She is wonderful and makes your stay special. She can help you with everything and so accommodating. It is just on the outside of town, but I think that helps, as you feel you don't have to share your view with all the other holiday makers. Definitely keeping this little gem in our holiday book

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks Cindy, - I do like to meet all the guests whenever possible. I appreciate your kind review.
Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    83
    7
    7
    0
See reviews for
101
162
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

If you want generous, engaging staff that will map out travels, discuss and recommend options, tours, and dining, then stop at Bali Hai. My wife and I on our honeymoon spent a night here in Paihia and are so gracious for the help Barbara supplied. We wish we had stayed longer, and you could definitely have enough to do to stay in Russell/Paihia for at least 2 nights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bradchristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Bradley & Christine, what a lovely review, THANKS. I hope that you continued to have a good trip in New Zealand. I agree, you are so right, one night is not enough in Paihia or at the motel.Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Bali Hai, Barbara was really helpful giving us lots of tips on things to do in the area. She booked a cruise to the "Hole in the Rock" for us which really is a must do. Our studio was excellent, spotlessly clean and everything we needed, the on site laundry a added bonus. Would certainly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Studio perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountains158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you !! A positive review is so motivating, I really appreciate the time you have taken to post about your time here at the Bali Hai. Best regards, Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Only stayed for one night in this very clean apartment with the best equipped kitchen you could hope to find and lots of seating outside to BBQ or just enjoy the wonderful views. Manageable walk downhill to the small town although easier with car. Barbara made us very welcome, a happy first impression, and although we didn't order the breakfast it was available if required. The boat trip round the Bay of Islands was magical. Would definitely recommend a longer stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hueyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you ~ that was a lovely review to read, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay here. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The manager Barbara makes the place , she provided very helpful information both before we arrived and during the stay and is unobtrusively available to help at any time. We had a lovely two bedroom unit with a private parking space underneath, a balcony with lovely views lounge and well equipped kitchen. At the back is a patio area with access to BBQ's. We ate out most evenings as it was a pleasant walk into town or a three minute drive with good restaurants to choose from - which are described in a helpful booklet in the room. I would recommend staying there and would have liked to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great with lovely views from private balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you, I wish you could see me smiling, whilst I am typing. Receiving a positive review is great and I do not take it for granted. I also realise that you have to make time to post a review and that is acknowledged too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We (a family of 5) stayed for 4 nights. What a lovely manager Barbara is; she always went the extra mile to make us all feel very welcome. The apartment was clean and comfortable with a new kitchen and bathroom, good views and 2 outside areas, one including a BBQ. An extensive DVD library which the children loved.
A 2 minute walk to a great beach.
Overall a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view over mangroves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EHQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Ellie, thank you for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you all stay here, and the boys kept us all entertained. I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay here, and I hope mum and dad had a safe and pleasant trip back to England. Best wishes Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Well presented accommodation. The room was very clean and spacious. The host of this premises was very helpful with information of places to eat and local shopping, nothing was to much trouble for her. Outside the back door of the rooms there was an undercover verandah which housed a cupboard, with all sorts of things in it, games for kids, many DVD's to choose from, BBQ equipment and many, many condiments for a BBQ which was on back verandah. The Bali Hai Motel was a home away from home. Won't hesitate to let friends know of this accommodation. Thankyou Barbara for a pleasant 3 nights stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank softball51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you - I really appreciate your positive feedback, we are small, personal and quiet. Therefore, we try to add little things to make guests feel valued and welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.2 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 509 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Property: Pearl of the Bay
Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing