We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent start to a holiday”
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent start to a holiday”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were given a very warm welcome by Barbara, the manager. She was extremely friendly and helpful. Our studio apartment included a very comfortable bed and an airy lounge/ dining area and a well equiped kitchen, all very clean. The apartment was in a nice quiet location and it was only a short walk to a very pretty beach.
Many thanks Barbara for a lovely start to our holiday in NZ
Carole

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Carole & Victor, thank you for the review, and I appreciate that you took time to write one.
I am delighted that you found the studio to your liking and that you enjoyed the beach walks.
I hope that the rest of your holiday in NZ continues to go well. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Best regards Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    95
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
110
189
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Nice stay. Apartments was very clean. Comfortable. Location is a bit far from town over a steep hill for a regular walk so need the car. Very affordable accommodation and friendly helpful host. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandNewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
I am glad you found the accommodation clean and comfortable. The hill is a good one, but in a car we are one minute to the beginning of town and 2 minutes to the centre. (distance 1.5km) There is also a nice beach walk to the town, and that is not over a hill, I only add this in for future guests. I value all comments and feedback, and thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is appreciated. Best regards Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Cities, Wisc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I love the fact that we arrived to the motel and Barbara was gone for the evening but had left us a note on the office door to simply go to our room. Our room was unlocked and ready for us. A very nice welcoming note on our kitchen table, along with a map with restaurants and a supermarket hand marked on it. What service, even when absent!!

The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. We had a nice balcony overlooking the countryside out our front door. Out the back door was a shared shed containing hundreds of movies to watch and a refrigerator with communal condiments.

As others have mentioned, the driveway up to the rooms is pretty steep but the one going back down is what gave me heart palpitations. Wow!

My only "complaint" that really can't be fixed is the space available for parking. We had a rather large rental vehicle because there were 5 of us traveling and it took the driver and 2 other folks directing the driver to maneuver the vehicle into the car-park for our room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PolskaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello Heather, thank you for your review. It is rare that I am not here to meet guests, but if that happens I will always ensure as much information is provided for them as possible in my absence. I am glad you were happy with the information you received.

With the parking, if a vehicle is oversize I am always happy for people to parallel park in front of
their space, to alleviate any parking concerns. Generally speaking our car park spaces are suitable:)

I appreciate the time that you took to write your review, thank you very much.
Best regards to you and your family. I hope your mum is getting on well with her photo scrap book. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Our rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. It's fairly basic, but still has all the facilities that you would expect. Barbara was pleasant and efficient, giving good recommendations of places to eat and checking our tour bookings for the following day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you Alistair for taking time to post a review. Regards Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Barbara goes the second mike to make your stay a memorial one.
She runs a great motel, and looks after your every need.
The units are modern and clean, and close to the town centre close to restaurants and tours. Barbara will even arrange a a booking or you if requested, and suggest one for you to take.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 973JimJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jim & Fely ~ thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. It is appreciated. Best regards Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My family spend a month travelling both Islands in New Zealand and we stayed in a lot of 2 bedroom apartments and by far the Bali Hai was the best. It had the best bathroom, kitchen, lounge (enough seats for everyone to sit at) well everything in the apartment really outshone others. Not only was the accommodation the best but the personal touches from Barbara made it that much more special and the kids loved her. She went above and beyond to help make our holiday that much more special so Thank you Barbara for all your help and your own lovely personal touches that made staying at the Bali Hai so lovely. Oh yes and the views from the balcony are spectacular too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Leanne ~ what a lovely review. Thank you!! It was a pure pleasure to meet you all and I learnt about K Pops too!! I Let me know when you and Adrian are doing the adults only trip, and be sure to get in touch. Best regards to Alicia & Daniel. I appreciate all your comments. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very comfortable & clean rooms, one of the best bathrooms out of all New Zealand accommodation we stayed in, Barbara very helpful with suggestions for activities & food. Great view from room. Enjoyed a meal from the BBQ at the motel, plus a video from the great selection available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you Peter, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. I know you had a busy holiday and then back to Australia, so I do appreciate that you took the time to comment on your stay here. Our 2 bedroom bathrooms are good and I am glad you thought so too. See you next time. Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.9 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.9 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Property: Pearl of the Bay
Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing