We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Pearl of the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pearl of the Bay
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Superb location overlooking the bay. Owner Barbara is very helpful and nothing was a trouble to her. Good facilities and perfect for a 2 or 3 day stay. Note taxis are rare in Paihia and the walk back uphill is steep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you , I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, I know that you both enjoyed the "IT' festival:)
It is a pleasure to look after guests when they are as cheerful and as interesting as you both were. Given you are on a long trip, I appreciate that you have taken the time to review the property. I hope the rest of your travels go well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    95
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
110
189
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I were so pleased with our stay! Easily the friendliest atmosphere I have ever experienced in a hotel or motel setting. Our trip was truly enhanced by staying at the Bali Hai and would do the same for anyone traveling the north island!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Well, what a compliment!! Thank you. Yes, making you welcome is a key priority for us, and making you feel at home is another. So, good to know we did that.
Thanks for taking the time to review the property, on line feedback is so important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Bali Hai motel is in an elevated location with views of the beach, nearby wetlands and mountains, it is quiet, being away from the main sea front but is only minutes away. The musical calls of the resident Tui birds remind you every morning that you are in New Zealand. Barbara the owner was very helpful with advice on where to eat and shop, we particularly enjoyed the walk into town along the beach recommended by Barbara. The studio was large, clean and had a very comfortable bed. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Bali Hai

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Manager at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I appreciate also that you gave me the information about one website having all our rates "very" wrong!! This has now been corrected. The beach walk is beautiful and one of the least busy beach walks you will encounter.
Glad you appreciated all our views and the native Tui's, they are beautiful aren't they!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great location, only a 10 minute walk from the center of Paihia. All rooms are located on top of the hill overlooking the ocean and the mountains. Studio apartment with kitchenette was large, very clean and comfortable. Barbara, the owner was wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. I enjoyed my time at Bali Hai Motel and would recommend to anyone staying in Paihia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the property, it is a feel good factor for us too, when we know that our guests have enjoyed the stay. I trust that the rest of your journey is continuing well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Barbara was wonderful, we were late in arriving but she made sure we got in ok and had everything we needed. It was too dark at night to realize how awesome the view would be from the balcony--so it was a perfect surprise to wake up to--a light misty fog rolling over the hills in the early morning hours. The bed was very comfy as well!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the motel, I am glad that you were able to appreciate the view when you saw it the next morning. The location of the property means that you are able to enjoy both sea and rural views, and I find both types appealing. We hope you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable, and Barbara was very helpful in giving us suggestions for where to eat, what tours to take, etc. In fact, we had only planned to stay one night out of our five nights in the North, but Paihia was such a wonderful place and the room was so nice that we extended our stay for an extra night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJ644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, and I am delighted that you were able to stay
an extra night with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were honemooning across north New Zealand and decided to stay at Bali Hai because of its proximity to the town. We were were impressed by how fully equipped they were! Traveling on the budget is a breeze with this kind of of accommodations. Tidy kitchen had everything you could possible think about, from pans and cooking gadgets to organic tea and coffee! We were very grateful to Barbara's (hotel's owner) choices. She was very accommodating and kind to us. Not only did she make us feel comfortable and welcome but also shared a little bit of towns history and helped us purchase our cruise. We feel like we friends in Paihia now!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaliHaiMotelPaihia, Owner at Pearl of the Bay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, your guest experience is also our experience
and so we need to strive to ensure our guests are well informed and happy whilst they are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.1 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.8 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pearl of the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pearl of the Bay

Property: Pearl of the Bay
Address: 8-10 Coutts Avenue, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Bali Hai Motel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
#12 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pearl of the Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pearl of the Bay is a small family run business. We are personal in our approach and our size allows us to ensure that we respond to guests as individuals. With only 9 units, you are never crowded, our lay out gives you optional places to sit and take in the atmosphere, be it on our back patio, your front balcony, or somewhere in your room.We look forward to welcoming you to our spot in the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Pearl of the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Of The Bay Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing