We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clea, tidy, comfortable”
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayview Motel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed 3 nights over Easter in a room with no sea view (although there actually was a sea view out the ranch slider).

The room was spacious with two single beds in the living area and a fold-out sofa, and a bedroom with a queen bed.

The bathroom was clean and modern. The kitchen was well equipped motel-style with most basic utensils and amenities. The television has channels 1, 2, 3 and Prime as well as Sky Sport and Movies Premiere.

The location is excellent - just a stone's throw from the centre of town and right across the road from the water. There is free off-street parking for guests (unallocated).

The motel itself is a typical Kiwi motel. It's not fancy but it is very comfortable, well maintained and clean.

There is a spa pool for guest use. It's a bit hidden away and dark, but if you need a soak it's there.

There is a wifi system which involves using 100mb credits, which is mildly cumbersome but gets you online if you need it.

The place is very good value for money. We enjoyed it and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Chose this place from a number of motels, seemed the best value and close to the main shops.

Called a day or two before our booking to upgrade to a seaview suite and the hosts were kind enough to let us upgrade with no fee. What a great decision that was. Huge amount of space for the price and a small deck area with a table and chairs outside to enjoy the view.

Room had everything we needed and the view each morning was breathtaking.

Will be recommending to any friends that are heading to Paihia. Hotel service at a Motel price!

Room Tip: The seaview suites at the front are definitely where to stay! Well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missmoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked for two nights. We then found we couldn't make it on the original two nights and on the Wednesday before the Friday booking I tried to get the booking moved to three weeks later.

Unfortunately from the motels perspective we were "cancelling" the first booking and remaking the booking so they charged us the full amount for the rooms even though we were never there.

Lessons learned.

One. Read the cancellation policy. I booked via the AA website and the cancellation policy is there on the last line of the last page before you are committed. I missed it and only found it when looking a second time. Even so, in my opinion I wasn't cancelling just postponing.

Second. These motel owners are pretty unfair people. I understand they have a business to run but they didn't have to spend any money servicing our rooms or paying electricity so some sort of refund seemed in order. I expected there would be a charge, but not the full amount. They seem unable to comprehend that fair treatment would have meant great word of mouth advertising and, since I'm keen to introduce my family to the Bay of Islands, probably repeat business as well. Short sighted.

Third. Don't book via the AA website. You seem to lose any control you might have over your booking.

This may well be the best establishment in the world but I won't stay there now and will make it my business to tell anyone heading to Paihia to avoid the place. Ultimately, they are right according to the letter of the contract, but in my opinion wrong otherwise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

This guest is not telling the truth.On the 19th March 2014 the guest booked accommodation for the 28th & 29th March. On Thursday, the 27th March,(not Wednesday),the guest phoned at 7.45pm and advised,with only a few hours notice, that as he and his partner had decided to celebrate his partners birthday elsewhere,he no longer required the accommodation booked.He then stated that as the accommodation had already been paid for to AA Travel he would book accommodation for a later date and utilise the payment for the later booking.
I advised him that without fair notice the accommodation would have to be paid for unless I could relet to other guests.I advised him that if relet successfully the payment would be refunded in full or transfered to the new booking.He accepted this and requested that he be advised of the outcome.I was unable to relet and advised him accordingly by email.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Booked for one night but changed to three after first night. Great accommodation right on the seafront. We had great views over to Russell and could lie in bed and watch all of the action. Studio unit was great value for money with all of the location and facilities of luxury accommodation for a very reasonable price. Staff were wonderful. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Youv'e given us another 10 out of 10.We are feeling very spoilt.Thank you very much. It's so important for our guests to do reviews,not only for our benefit but also for other tourists.We appreciate your response to your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had booked two units, 2 x 1 bedroom, one with a bay view, the other upstairs with no view. The front unit was smaller, but the views compensated for that, and the other unit was very roomy. Both were well equipped and clean, and the beds very comfortable, and the manager was very helpful and friendly. It was great to sit and enjoy the view in the afternoon/evening, even though it was raining. Very happy with the accommodation and would certainly recommend this motel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Another 10 out of 10.We appreciate reviews from our guests.It's important to know that they enjoyed their stay with us.Thankyou so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at this place for 4 nights and came away quite impressed. Our unit was spacious, very tidy and well equipped. We had taken with us our two pet dogs, having a small grass porch on the ground floor units made this motel a perfect choice for us. The motel is beautifully located, less than 5 mins from the Paihia town centre and across the road from the beach front. The hosts are very friendly too. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

A review like that makes the hard work and long hours so worthwhile. Thankyou so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a very enjoyable two nights at this excellent motel. The room was well equipped with fantastic views and was really outstanding value for money. Although the weather was not the best we spent many an hour sitting looking out on the beautiful scenery. The level of service was also just right, not intrusive but help and advice was available when needed or wanted. Would definitely make a return visit if the opportunity arose. A five star establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank themustang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Wow 10 out of 10.
Thankyou for that.It makes the long hours really worthwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
472 reviews
0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#23 of 43 in Paihia
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.5 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $105 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing