We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bayview Motel
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great Location, had a partial sea view from the little balcony. Good spacious apartment which could have slept 4. Bathroom and kitchen facilities were good and clean. Didn't see the Spa room so cannot comment. Good value for money, would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TitusTheTinyTerror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Bayview and considered it good value.The weather was kind to you fortunately.Hope you returned to the UK safe and sound.Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    31
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
49
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Four of us had the two front apartments which had brilliant views and right on the beachfront and a short walk to everything. I was amazed at the low tariff considering the location and it is mainly because the apartments haven't been touched in decades but still have that old charm. The kitchenette was good and we had loads of room. Sadly if we come back to Paihia this motel will have been renovated and much more expensive so get in while you can.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thankyou for your very kind comment.I can assure you that when our refurbishment is complete our rates will not go through the roof.Our rates in fact are going to reduce further as we head into winter and our Xmas/New Year rates have just been set at only 8% higher.Watch for our WOOLY WINTER SPECIAL......3 nights for $300 on the waterfront with seaview and $240 without a seaview.Hope to see you back soon.Graham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location to the shops,restaurants and beach.
Rooms are old but clean.It could be really nice if we stay in seafront room.
We stayed 3bed rooms apartment.No view at all and Kids were looking forward to the Spa(i thought it is out side spa somehow....)but bit disappointed.It was really dank and smell like a old gold fish tank.

Room Tip: Seafront of Second floor would be great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opensesami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thankyou for your comments.You are so right and we agree.That's why we have started a refurbishment program which will be complete by mid May 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great motel to relax and explore the beauty of the Bay of Islands. We received a very friendly welcome and had a great spacious apartment complete with generous balcony. Couldn't ask for more and would highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Room with a view of the Bay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace10Aberdeen_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in Unit 1 -- a good spacious unit first-floor unit overlooking the seafront, and with excellent views across to Russell. The unit was clean, comfortable and well-equipped, especially the kitchen. The toilet/shower-room was fairly small but entirely functional.
This motel is in an excellent location only a minute from the wharf and ferry / boat trip services and is also an easy walking distance from the main beach, restaurants, etc.
We were warmly welcomed by Graham the owner, who also provided helpful advice re restaurants both in Paihia and Russell.
We had good Internet access but had a slight problem with reception on SKY channels of the TV.
This was our 3rd visit to Bayview Motel and we would recommend it -- especially the sea view units.

Room Tip: We would recommend a sea view unit -- 1,2,8 or 9 These have excellent sea views and good balcony ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyW1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Despite being promised 4 months earlier (both by phone and email) that our stay would be in an apartment with walk in shower, this was not available for our 4 night stay. Apartment was comfortable enough but curtain in bedroom needs to be replaced by one with sun block - it was very thin and when on holidays I don't like waking with the sun!!! One would have thought the charge for cold water laundry wash might have been overlooked given the owners had not provided room promised.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Although our unit at the Bayview Motel was like taking a step back in time to the 70s (or is it 60s?) it was spacious, comfortable and suitable for our one night stay. We stayed in the three bedroom unit, which does not have bay views but as the weather was grey and wet this was not an issue. We soon found a large oil-filled column heater for the living area and smaller heaters of the three bedrooms. The motel is well located close to the wharf and shopping area and provides gas barbecues for each unit (a nice touch). As older properties have a tendency to be on the gungey side, I was more than pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the unit ... it was immaculate ... not a speck of dust to be seen and all surfaces and kitchen utensils were pristine. Well done to the owner for keeping this property in such good condition.

Room Tip: Don't forget the three bedroom unit does not have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.0 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#29 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Austria Motel
Austria Motel
#28 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Cabinz Motel
Bay Cabinz Motel
#23 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Property: Bayview Motel
Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing