We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bayview Motel
Ranked #28 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Despite being promised 4 months earlier (both by phone and email) that our stay would be in an apartment with walk in shower, this was not available for our 4 night stay. Apartment was comfortable enough but curtain in bedroom needs to be replaced by one with sun block - it was very thin and when on holidays I don't like waking with the sun!!! One would have thought the charge for cold water laundry wash might have been overlooked given the owners had not provided room promised.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

Although our unit at the Bayview Motel was like taking a step back in time to the 70s (or is it 60s?) it was spacious, comfortable and suitable for our one night stay. We stayed in the three bedroom unit, which does not have bay views but as the weather was grey and wet this was not an issue. We soon found a large oil-filled column heater for the living area and smaller heaters of the three bedrooms. The motel is well located close to the wharf and shopping area and provides gas barbecues for each unit (a nice touch). As older properties have a tendency to be on the gungey side, I was more than pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the unit ... it was immaculate ... not a speck of dust to be seen and all surfaces and kitchen utensils were pristine. Well done to the owner for keeping this property in such good condition.

Room Tip: Don't forget the three bedroom unit does not have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The place was claen and tidy the bed was ok but I found the sheets itchy, but my said they were ok ( it may heve been the electric blanket? not sure). The shower was ok but not great. the cooking area was nice stainless steel area so you could see it was clean and the fasilities were good. cafeteria with nice coffee. The view was of the bay as suggested by the name and can be seen on google maps. the kids running past the window of the shared balcony was a shock but not a problem. easy walking to a great coffee shop for breakfast at Frank's.

Room Tip: upstairs has better views and not all rooms have a direct bat view room 8 was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Apparently book directly by phonecall rather than through their website, you can save yourself quite abit of money. Better still don't bother booking at all in advance and hedge your bets is what they prefer. Shame this is not clear on their website. Refunded difference would have easily ended our stay with a positive view of owners commitment for great customer service instead of no refund and a bad feeling. :(

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A lovely place to stay, value for money is topps, very clean and tidy and plenty of room even a dish washer, we recomend this Motel for a relaxing and enjoyable stay very friendly people

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We (3 couples) booked a 3 bedroom apartment and stayed 2 nights over Easter. We found the apartment clean and comfortable, but a little tired. The kitchen is dated. The internet connection was very slow and kept timing out. The staff were helpful. There was no sea view from this apartment and we had been told that at the time of booking - so that wasn't an issue. The freezer in the refrigerator was in a desperate need of defrosting. Therre was a damp smell in the cupboard in the main bedroom. We thought that the apartment was good value for money given that it was Easter.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozzyfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed at this motel in March. Did not book in advance but were directed there by tourist information. Wanted somewhere with internet access for own laptop and Bayview advertised this. The only seaview room available was at ground level with a parking space just outside and a small patio area. Entrance was through sliding patio doors. Owner was pleasant and helpful. One bedroom apartment was clean but very basic. There was a modern flat screen TV but the reception on it was very poor and there was no internet access available in the room. In order to connect to the internet I had to take the laptop to the reception area and sit on a small table in a corner. I did manage to get a connection there but it was not the ideal place to have to be. Obviously, it was not somewhere to use skype or do anything that needed privacy as it was too public. The location of the motel is very convenient and very close to everywhere. We did not need to use the car whilst we were there.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have better TV reception and internet access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moderntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
0.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#6 of 43 in Paihia
233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.1 mi away
Austria Motel
Austria Motel
#23 of 43 in Paihia
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $73 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing