We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Motel? Yes! Bayview!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bayview Motel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Motel? Yes! Bayview!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a excellent motel! I've travel all the way in Paihia to find a suitable Motel. Only Bayview has the motel that I am willing to have for. The price and the room are excellent. The owner has really nice manners, kind and friendly! EXCELLENT!

Room Tip: Room 9. Best view in all unit. Suitable for 2 adults and 2 child on the couch bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeLeeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    33
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
54
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

stayed in jan 2012 family 4 adults 2 children aged 12 and 11 not clean no view eaten by sandflies mattresses were old and foysty furniture dated would have gone elsewhere but everywhere fully booked i have never wrote or complained about any place i have been i always use these sites for advice and i have travelled the world and stayed in 2 star hotels which have been better this place needs modernising it looks fantastic from the outside and the location is brilliant owner friendly but what a shame on interior unless you like staring at cobwebs on your bedroom ceiling

Room Tip: dont get room 5 ask to face the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We are two families from Australia who were on a two week holiday touring the north island. We spent two nights at the Bayview Motel. We stayed in the 3 bedroom apartment, which comfortably accommodated 4 adults and 3 teenagers. It was very clean and well equipped. Our hosts were friendly and made us feel very welcome. They provided us with great local knowledge in terms of the best value activities and restaurants. My son took quite ill the day we arrived and they speedily directed us to excellent medical attention, right across the road. They loaned us kayaks to use for no charge during our stay and allowed us to leave our minibus parked in their car park on the day we checked out while we did a dolphin watch tour. Very good value for money and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Be careful, only a few apartments here truly have bay or ocean view. Our apartment was on the second floor and had no view. When we arrived it was hot and sticky inside. There is no airconditioning and since both rooms faced the same direction it is very difficult to establish sufficient cross ventilation. We complained about the heat but were told a fan would have to do. So we tried to cancel our stay and move to another place but were then told that we would be responsible for all nights booked not just the first night.
We also noticed the poor quality of the mattresses. They appear very old and worn out with "sinkholes" and probably haven't been replaced in a long time. The rooms are clean but the furniture looks like as if it was selected from a thrift shop. Not what we expected for the money we paid.

Room Tip: Look for a room with bay view or better stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank independent_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Huge room that was kept clean

Service was very good at the counter

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We (me, husband & our baby) recently stayed at the Bayview Motel for 6 nights and the place was great - nice large unit with an external area, great view of the bay & close to the town. Graeme was very friendly and helpful, would recommend it as a place to stay as we will stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I booked the room for a night and due to traffic conditions, I arrived at 9.30pm.

There was no one at the reception and no instructions for us to check in. We called the emergency number on the entrance and it was directed to a voicemail. There was no reply after waiting for more than 1 hour.

Totally not considerate that their guests might have to drive for hours to get here.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adoncia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ala-Moana Motel
Ala-Moana Motel
#29 of 44 in Paihia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Sands Seafront Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Property: Bayview Motel
Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing