We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had stayed longer!”
Review of Bay Cabinz Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Cabinz Motel
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for only one night due to a last minute car problem and it was booked at the local information centre. What a delightful 'cabin'....facilities were excellent and the setting and view was wonderful even though we choose the lowest cabin (number 1) for ease of carrying luggage.

Room Tip: Would love to try one of the rooms further up the hill.....views will be magnificent!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Bay Cabinz Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 88 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Belinda and Peter were friendly & helpful hosts. The chalets were beautifully appointed with stunning sea views. The motel shuttle service and its central location made it unnecessary to drive, as all the attractions and tours were nearby.
The stairs connecting the chalets could be a deterrent as they were quite steep.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayhann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Everything was provided to a very high standard. The hosts at Bay Cabinz were welcoming, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I thoroughly enjoyed my 'Sea View' accomodation (I spent 5 nights as a base for Paihia, Russell and the Bay of Islands). The accomodation was ideal and the cooking facilities in the chalet were just right if you wished to take a break from eating out.

The chalet was spotlessly clean and well maintained - I would not hesitate in booking again if I were to revisit Paihia. The shops were only 5 minutes walk away so everything you could need is to hand. I've travelled to NZ and Australia quite a few times but this is the first time I've written a review - when things are done well, it's important to let others know!

Well done to everyone at Bay Cabinz, I had a fantastic time and hope to return again one day!

Room Tip: Sea View chalets (higher up) have great views and are very private - even cheaper if you book for a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_A380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week mid Feb 2013.
Peter and Belinda are terrific hosts, plenty of local information and easy to make bookings with.
Cabins are in a great position with terrific views.back cabins may be a bit of a steep walk if the legsare not up to scratch or your luggage a bit heavy.
Cooking facilities available but local resturants and the RSA are all VG
The verandah was aterrific place for an afternoon drink and chill out.
My partner is a coeliac and we found all the eateries very accomadating.
Only Seafood and Alfrescos were stand outs.
Benn & Gayle

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Limited parking as it seemed to be quite full however the rooms were clean and were well supplied. Offered a sense of privacy due to the cabin style. The hosts were lovely and helpful. Should be aware that there is a dvd player and ipod dock in the room so if you are going and in need of entertainment in your downtime take a dvd or ipod.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spacecadett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here, unfortunately only for one night, in late January. We would have loved to have stayed for a week. It has an excellent location, great view, wonderful host, what more can you ask for? We received excellent advise on nearby food and attractions as well as travel time advise, which we sorely needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottieMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Love Bay Cabinz! My husband and I stayed there for a week at the tail end of our 3-week holiday in NZ. The units are private, sunny, airy, and very clean, with a well equipped kitchen and wrap-around decks. Also the most comfortable beds we experienced during our entire visit to NZ! Belinda and Pete are just gems and are so helpful. Ask Belinda to arrange for some sailing in on the yacht, Gungha, which is helmed by a friend of hers. The cabins are located very close to the center of Paihia (just about a five-minute walk) and are situated on a wooded, shady hillside with private off-street parking and away from most traffic noise. The units are accessed by several sets of stairs, so be prepared to haul your luggage up them, but this was not really an issue for us. And make sure you have a bit of milk on hand for Smooch the orange tabby! She will come by your cabin for a visit and walk right in if you have the door open. :O) You might also get to know the locals who live next to Bay Cabinz and who might invite you over for BBQ and a beer! Highly recommended property and hope to return one of these days.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#4 of 43 in Paihia
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Averill Court Motel
Averill Court Motel
#7 of 43 in Paihia
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pearl of the Bay
Pearl of the Bay
#11 of 43 in Paihia
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Cabinz Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Cabinz Motel

Address: 32 - 34 School Road | P.O. Box 182, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Paihia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Price Range: $82 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Cabinz Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 fully self-contained private chalet bungalows overlooking the Paihia village. This sunny elevated eco-complex is set in sub-tropical/native surroundings with bird life, sea and garden views in Central Paihia. Ideal for singles, couples and small families who enjoy a quiet natural environment. Only 300m flat walk to Paihia's cafes, restaurants, shops, beaches and nearby wharf which is the gateway to the beautiful Bay of Islands many tourist attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Cabinz Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Cabinz Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing