We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place, people and breakfasts”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2010

As this was our last 2 night stay in New Zealand we wanted it to be warm, relaxing and indulgent. Consequently, we were delighted as Chalet Romantica is somewhere special. The hosts Eddie and Inge were welcoming, effecient and excellent tour promoters. Inge's breakfasts were beautifully displayed, prepared and charmingly served. As our booking was quite late we had a room at the back of the Chalet which was small, but had its own patio with views over the valley. We thouroughly recommend Chalet Romantica as a beautiful place to stay in the stunning Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkerSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 527 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2010

Excellent accommodation and attention to detail in every respect. The continental breakfasts were delicious with everything you could wish for and more, from fruit to pancakes and everything in between. The views were breathtaking from our balcony and it was only a short walk to town and beach. Our hosts Inge and Eddie were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandoraWolviston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We are small hotel owners ourselves, so we are picky when it comes to where we stay. We found their website and knew we couldn't stay anywhere else. We made the right choice. The staff was gracious and accommodating. Our room was one of the smaller rooms, but we enjoyed our private entrance. The bed was extremely comfortable and clean. The Wireless Internet was a great amenity considering how challenging it is to get WiFi in New Zealand. The breakfast was fantastic and well presented. Would stay there again and again. Already recommended it to my friends in Auckland.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldTownManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed with Inge and Ed for 4 nights. We took the Bellavista suite which is self catering for two (twin beds) and the adjacent Bellavista room for two (king bed). This allowed us some self catering. The breakfasts were varied and top quality. We chartered the family yacht (42 feet) for a day and had a stunning cruise, swam with dolphins and moored at Paradise Cove for lunch. Our hosts were incredibly helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJASp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Just fantastic. Exceeded all expectations by a long way. Great attention to the little things. The robes, the chocolates on the pillows, a small selection of carefully chosen wines at very reasonable prices and a breakfast unlike any breakfast I have ever experienced. Needing a break after an extremely hectic and stressful period we stumbled across this place. It was quiet, peaceful, immaculately presented and garnished with stunning views and helpful service which is so often lacking in other places. We really didnt want to leave and without a doubt, we will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_allison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This would be the best accommodation I've ever stayed at.
Intuitive, friendly, helpful and the breakfast is lovely.
The place has it's own character, easy to use and a great view from both rooms we've stayed in (stayed a year ago as well).
Thoroughly recommend.
Thanks Inge and Ed

From Tanya and Ben

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamBandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Looking at the description and the pictures I had high expectations. In the matter of fact Chalet Romantica is even better ! Bay of Island is a lovely place but Chalet Romantica makes your stay unique. Great level of service, great view and friendly hospitality. With Inge and Ed you feel at home among old friends of yours.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muggiaFezzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $138 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing