We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hospitality!”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2009

My wife and I wrapped up our 6week NZ holiday with 5 nights at this absolutely delightful B & B. Our room was in immaculate condition on our arrival and was maintained that way througout our visit. The views were terrific, the breakfasts scrumptious, and our hostess, Inge, helped us set up what were some fabulous tours and experiences around this beautiful area. Her enthusiasm and local knowledge added immeasurably to what I can only describe as and outstanding experience. Highly recommended!! Keith Watson (Canada)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithwVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 527 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2009

We are currently sitting in the Romantica Suite enjoying the beautiful views and at the same time checking out the tripadvisor site for our next stop, when we came across the latest review of Chalet Romantica. We've stayed in many different accommodation during our 4 weeks travel through New Zealand but this place is one of the most beautiful and friendliest ones.
- The Romantica Suite is on the top floor with gorgeous views. There are a few steps to get to the suite but nothing to complain about. It's a beautiful room that is tastefully furnished & very comfortable.
-There is a nice little gym with an indoor pool and spa, which are heated and understandably covered when not in use. We've used both the pool and spa and there is always someone on hand to lift off the covers.
-We've ordered breakfast each morning which is delicious with fresh fruit, freshly baked croissants and breads, a variety of cereals and muesli, eggs in any way, pancakes etc.
- Inge & Ed, the hosts are really friendly and eager to please and to help you make the most of your stay. We can highly recommend Chalet Romantica!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbuds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

The Romantica Suite is not what it appears on the website. There are 43 stairs from ground level!!
The bathroom is tired and in need of updating, having a fridge in there seems odd.
The room itself has great potential but also needs updating, it also had a strange smell. The door to the balcony did not lock we must have been given the wrong key
The wireless internet for which they charge was very poor reception and not worth charging for.
The breakfast was very poor especially on the second day when we felt we were getting the left over fruit and breads. We had to pay extra for breakfast because it was not included in the room price which in a bed and breakfast seems very odd.
Inge the owner is very helpful but her husband actually came in to our room unannounced to do something with the safe, which is unacceptable behaviour.
The advertised pool was covered up so obviously not in use.
Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swissgo, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2011

Chalet Romantica is a modern multi storey home with most of the guest rooms being upstairs in order to capture the best views of the Bay and town. The chalet boasts of some stunning native New Zealand timber features and art work throughout. There is a constant upgrading in process which included last year of all guest bathrooms being completely revamped and equipped with the latest bathroom appliances. We can guarantee that the video on our website is a true interpretation of our rooms and facilities with some additional upgrading done since. The wireless internet is free of charge now. The indoor pool and spa area is open daily from 7.30am to 10pm. To save energy during night time we cover the heated pool with a light pool cover which is taken off with the first guest entering the pool.
You did ask us to check your in-room safe which apparently didn’t work. After we knocked a few times on your door with no responds we assumed you were out and entered your room finding you sitting on your balcony with the balcony door closed. You must not have heard us knocking. We like to apologise for disturbing your privacy. Because of Romantia suite being equipped with a small service kitchen, guests have the option of booking the suite self catering or B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed here with his parents for 3 nights - the in-laws simply loved this place. We were in the Bellavista Room, and they were next door in the Bellevue Suite. Inge, the friendly and bustling owner, had rolled back the divider on the shared balcony so that the four of us could share the impressive view of the bay. The Bellavista Room was small, but comfortable, with the bathroom across the hall (bathrobes were provided for the quick dart across the hallway). The Bellevue Suite was completely self-contained and had a nice-sized kitchenette/living area. The breakfasts were great--cereal, breads with jams and honey, yogurt, fresh and dried fruit, coffee, juice, and eggs cooked any style--with a repeat of the lovely view out over the bay.

Chalet Romantica is close enough to downtown to walk, although the walk back from town requires a short trek up a rather steep hill--something my husband and I were willing to do, but not my mother-in-law. We were within earshot of a couple of late-night establishments, but not close enough that it kept anyone awake (this is Paihia after all--you're never far from anything in this town). Overall, we enjoyed a relaxing and friendly stay at Chalet Romantica.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandDseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We have just returned from an amazing New Zeaand trip and had our final 5 nights in the Bay Of Islands staying at Chalet Romantica over New Year 2008/09.
We booked out all three suites. with grandparents in one our 17 year old son in another and ourselves in the third. Inge and Ed were wondeful hosts and the breakfasts kept us going all day. Inge is kind and helpful and full of energy and knowledge about the area. She ensured that we were made aware of all possibilities for trips.
Ed and Inge kindly invited us on to their beautiful yacht for a sail around the islands on a beautiful hot suny day and their generosity was very much appreciated. All in all a wonderful place to stay. Immaculate facilities and thye finishing touches were just right. I would definitely recommend it. The views were amazing too!
Di from England.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank mcevoyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2008

We absolutely loved Chalet Romantica. After searching through all the possible hotels in Paihia, then seeing them in person, I am convinced we made the right choice in accomodation.

My fiance and I stayed in the Bellavista Room, which had INCREDIBLE views of the Bay and the islands beyond. It's far enough away from the action that it's nice and quiet at night, but close enough that you can be there in a 5 minute walk. (And definitely worth the walk up a quite steep hill!)

Inge was such a wonderful host and the breakfast was delicious, in a lovely sunny room overlooking the Bay. 100% recommended for anyone looking for beautiful rooms, great service, great location and a quaint B&B atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tokyochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We spent our last three idyllic days here in New Zealand before heading home. We were in the Romantica suite, a spacious and comfortable suite with fabulous views already well documented in prior reviews. The seemingly tireless Inge was an enthusiastic and ever helpful hostess who would quickly jump on the phone to enquire on or book up trips for us without hesitation. (Edi was out on his yacht charters most of the time when we were there). Breakfasts were excellent and substantial.
Added to the 'Austrian' theme is the little goat herd in the fields at the back of the chalet!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank haggischomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $138 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing