We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodations in 8 city trip!”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are not bed and breakfast kind of people, but this is not your typical b&b. we stayed 3 nights and we felt like we had the place to ourselves with 2 other rooms rented. we choose the top floor, the romantica suite and loved it. the bed was really comfortable and the shower was excellent. best surprise was a nice flat iron! the view was beautiful and you are within walking distance to everything. inge booked our outings and picked the perfect ones for us. we weren't sure we wanted to do the trip to the cape (cape reinga), but after talking to inge, decided to go and it was the best tour we took the entire trip. the breakfast was incredible. we had to leave super early one morning and inge made a breakfast tray and brought it to our room. her attention to detail shows in everything at chalet romantica and i can't wait to return. there is a hot tub and pool that we did not get a chance to use but looked spectacular. next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allirod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is so nice to hear that our guests enjoy what we are doing. We'd love to see you back next time you visit our country again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Romantica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 525 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

firstly, thankyou so much for having us! you were wonderful to our and our son.
we stayed here in March 2013 for 3 nights.
the room was lovely, and they were so accomodating with our then 6 month old baby.
breakfast was much more than we expected, and the hosts were lovely.
the location was great, and we loved the spa and pool, which you get to use privately.
i couldnt fault this place one bit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebekahtarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

You were such a lovely family and we loved your little boy. Hope to see you again next time you visit your relatives in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We chose Chalet Romantica based on research before departure for NZ, and our choice was completely vindicated. Inge is a thoughtful and intuitive host and went out of her way to make our stay memorable. The facilities are comprehensive, the views of the Bay stunning and breakfasts delicious. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

So happy you had a great experience at our place and we hope you are able to make it back to us and Paihia soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Last and best stay on North Island... and maybe all of NZ (over a month of stays)! A very welcoming, friendly and very helpful hostess in Inge! Loved the Bellvista room with beautiful balcony and great views over the Bay to Russell. Breakfasts were delightful with many courses of interesting and varied dishes.
Close to all restaurants, shops and ferry in Paihia for trips around the amazing Bay of Islands.
Would definitely stay here again on next trip. Impressed by the pool, jacuzzi and fitness equipment... but unfortunately our tight schedule did not allow enough time to enjoy.
Bedggood Close lived up to its name!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Procul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you staying and hope to see you both again sometimes soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Chalet Romantica was a lovely relaxing experience for us.
Inge and Ed are fabulous hosts and the breakfasts are just the best way to start your day with amazing service, views, food and company.
This place must be one of the best kept secrets of Pahia!
We were in Pahia for a romantic celebration of where we fell in love ten years ago and Chalet Romantica was the perfect icing on the cake making it a truly memorable anniversary for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

We are really happy that we could make your romantic getaway as enjoyable. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful stay for 3 nights in this terrific place. A boutique style B&B with a stunning location offering wonderful views of the bay. Very comfortable bedrooms with so many extra touches. Nice jacuzzi and mini pool (wave machine for those wishing to exercise!) available for guest use. 5 star breakfasts and hosts who work exceptionally hard to ensure your stay is perfect. Very highly recommended. Thanks Inge and continued success.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pita1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Good luck for your new ventures.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A long weekend made extra special by the great hospitality of Inge. Chalet Romantica is located in a beautiful part of NZ & makes the long drive North well worth it. Beautiful views from the Bellavista Room,and Inges breakfast are amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Really happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tarlton's Lodge
Tarlton's Lodge
#5 of 20 in Paihia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $137 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing