We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional level of service, genuine hospitality and plenty of delightful extra touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #3 of 21 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional level of service, genuine hospitality and plenty of delightful extra touches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wonderful stay for 3 nights in this terrific place. A boutique style B&B with a stunning location offering wonderful views of the bay. Very comfortable bedrooms with so many extra touches. Nice jacuzzi and mini pool (wave machine for those wishing to exercise!) available for guest use. 5 star breakfasts and hosts who work exceptionally hard to ensure your stay is perfect. Very highly recommended. Thanks Inge and continued success.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pita1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It was a pleasure meeting you both. Good luck for your new ventures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    15
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
443
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A long weekend made extra special by the great hospitality of Inge. Chalet Romantica is located in a beautiful part of NZ & makes the long drive North well worth it. Beautiful views from the Bellavista Room,and Inges breakfast are amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Really happy that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Last stop on our New Zealand journey and very definitely we saved the best until last. Amazing location and views from your private balcony. Just about every facility you could think of in a top notch B&B/Inn. Inge and Ed are wonderful hosts and the breakfast (with spectacular views) is something special. When we were planning the trip we didn't know the Bay of Islands sufficiently to be sure where to stay. If you are like us then think about Paihia rather than anywhere else, and certainly consider the Chalet Romantica if you want something really special.

Room Tip: They are all good - the view says it all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEROUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Really happy you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We hope to see you again next time you visit New Zealand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier new zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Chalet Romantica for 5 nights April, 2013. It is an excellently appointed, purpose built residence. We were delighted by the standard of the place, and the excellent service from our hosts. The breakfasts were delicious.
We have no hesitation in recommending this place to other travellers. Next time we are in Paihia, that is the place we will be staying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thankyou so much for taking the time to post your great review - it is much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is a hidden gem in a very special part of New Zealand. Our hosts Inge and Ed couldn't have been more welcoming, the rooms were exceptionally well appointed, and the views are amazing. It's worth the visit just for Inge's breakfasts!! The dining table is situated to take advantage of the expansive views across the Bay of Islands and and Inge prepares a delightful breakfast that would set any holiday maker up for a day of exploring the many treasures in close proximity.
Simply wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry-Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Really happy that you had such a good time staying with us and enjoying our beautiful area. Hope to see you both soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We couldn't have asked for anything more!
The Romantica suite was just the place to be for a couple of days of stormy weather.
Excellently appointed.
Luxury bedding, spacious, covered balcony with wonderful bay views, luxury toiletries, and serviced daily. Inge and Ed have thought of every special detail; bathrobes and slippers, chocolates on the pillow each day and even a written welcome as you arrive at the door.
We enjoyed Inge's warm welcome to a splendid breakfast each morning and a very enjoyable time chatting with fellow travelers from various corners of the world. We can't recommend Inge and Ed and their wonderful accommodation highly enough! You won't be disappointed. See for yourself! Thanks Inge and Ed.

Room Tip: Romatica room was lovely as spacious with a kitchenette, settee/TV area and a separate tiled bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
What a delight it was to meet you both. Hope the birthday surprises went all to plans!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Inge and Edi offer cozy, immaculate accommodation with a smile and enthusiasm. Our room and the breakfast room had fabulous view of the Bay of Islands. Breakfast tailored to our varied needs. Our hosts were full of tips and suggestions regarding what to do in the area and where to eat. Our four days FLEW by.

Room Tip: Rooms are varied. We suggest making sure you have a view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkle0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We very much enjoyed meeting you both and we are sure that your travels further down our country will bring many more highlights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#2 of 21 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Property: Chalet Romantica
Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing