We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay - thx”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“great stay - thx”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a great 1 night stay in Pahia in March 2013. Thanks to Inge who made us very welcome and helped us with all the info we needed for BOI trips. Breakfast was fantastic, our room was great and the views amazing. Could not have asked for more. Thx a lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelC573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Really happy that we could make your night away as enjoyable. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
449
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We travelled as two couples on a tour of the North Island, Chalet Romantica was our first B&B on the journey. What an amazing treat! Great location, great view, great hosts, great breakfast, great advise, great rooms! Inge was amazing with all the help she gave and superb breakfasts she cooked. I knew we would be in trouble for the rest of the trip as nothing could live up to this. We may return to Bay of Islands simply to stay at Chalet Romantica. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIM W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
How nice to hear from you and to receive such a positive responds. We very much enjoyed your company and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolah Valley, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have just returned to Australia after spending 2 weeks in NZ spending the majoirty of our time in B& B's .
We decided to try B& B's this trip because hotel rooms( with T.V's the centre piece of furniture) cold and boring .
Chalet Romantica was a delight , we stayed in the attic room which even had a microwave and fridge ( not all B&B's do ) . The view was stunning, the bed very large and even Inge's choice of toiletries luxurious.
We took advantage of the spa and pool ,after filling our days with activities suggested by Inge.
The breakfast spread had a touch of class full of fresh produce including the honey made from their own bees .
It was slightly over our initial budget but we both agreed worth every cent .

Room Tip: The attic room I think is the largest the roof line has character but it does have a few steep step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flatwhitejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
So happy we could make your stay as enjoyable. Hope to see you again in our lovely country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely B&B. warmly greeted by our host Inge. Our bedroom/ apartment is gorgeous. We have a great lounge area, bedroom,separate bathroom and a balcony area with a great view. Could not ask for more. 10/10

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank carlablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
So happy you enjoyed our apartment and your stay with us. Hope your trip around New Zealand went well and you had a safe trip back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first time in NZ and whilst visiting Paihia we had booked to stay at Chalet Romantica. We have not been fans of B&B's in the past but, if every B&B was run by Inge we would not stay anywhere else. Inge and her husband Eddie are the perfect hosts. They are so friendly, happy to book excursions, restaurants, make local recommendations (they are also very knowledgeable about the rest of NZ) and they really make you feel welcome into their home. We had arrived on Valentines Day and, shortly after arriving Inge brought us two glasses of champagne which we thought was a very nice gesture. We had the Bellavista Room which was lovely (provided with robes & slippers) with a balcony (sofa, 2 chairs and a table) that had a wonderful view over the Paihia bay and russell in the distance. The private bathroom (large shower, modern bathroom & lovely toiletries) was across a private hallway so this isn't an issue. The breakfast was the best we have ever had, so much choice - catering for all tastes. My husband particularly liked Inge's poached eggs (I should have asked her for a cooking lesson)! We didn't use the spa facilities during our stay as we were only there for 2 nights (unfortunately) but they looked very good. Sufficient parking for all guests and free wi-fi. We would like to return to NZ in the future and, when we do, will will definitely book to stay here again. Highly recommended.

Thank you Inge & Eddie - Christine & Colin.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RogueOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. It is so nice to read when guests enjoyed our hospitality, service and had an overall great experience at our place. See you again in Paihia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Saskatchewan, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the first stop on our N.Z. trip and it was wonderful. Ed and Inge are so friendly and helpful, booking trips, dining reservations and offering information. Our room was comfortable, spotless with plenty of closet space and gorgeous view. There was a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities, so you could have an early morning brew and go take a walk or exercise to work up an appetite for the meal you wouldn't want to miss. Breakfast was a feast!! The location was just a short walk from numerous restaurants, on Marsden Road which follows the coastline. We enjoyed everything about our 4 night stay, and although never had time to use the spa, it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fromsnowto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Hope you enjoyed your trip around our beautiful country. Perhaps see you again in sunny Paihia?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

this place has it all. Location, comfort, views and even goats in the back paddock. The owners are present and very helpful with suggestions, local knowledge and even booking tours for me. Breakfast caters for every taste. Nothing better than a swim and relax in the spa at the end of a long day. I will return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It was lovely meeting you and to be able to assist you with some suggestions on things to do and see in town. If you ever come back our way we'd love to have you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
452 reviews
2.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
5.3 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
4.0 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 20 in Paihia
244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Property: Chalet Romantica
Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing