We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first time in NZ and whilst visiting Paihia we had booked to stay at Chalet Romantica. We have not been fans of B&B's in the past but, if every B&B was run by Inge we would not stay anywhere else. Inge and her husband Eddie are the perfect hosts. They are so friendly, happy to book excursions, restaurants, make local recommendations (they are also very knowledgeable about the rest of NZ) and they really make you feel welcome into their home. We had arrived on Valentines Day and, shortly after arriving Inge brought us two glasses of champagne which we thought was a very nice gesture. We had the Bellavista Room which was lovely (provided with robes & slippers) with a balcony (sofa, 2 chairs and a table) that had a wonderful view over the Paihia bay and russell in the distance. The private bathroom (large shower, modern bathroom & lovely toiletries) was across a private hallway so this isn't an issue. The breakfast was the best we have ever had, so much choice - catering for all tastes. My husband particularly liked Inge's poached eggs (I should have asked her for a cooking lesson)! We didn't use the spa facilities during our stay as we were only there for 2 nights (unfortunately) but they looked very good. Sufficient parking for all guests and free wi-fi. We would like to return to NZ in the future and, when we do, will will definitely book to stay here again. Highly recommended.

Thank you Inge & Eddie - Christine & Colin.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RogueOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your complimentary review. It is so nice to read when guests enjoyed our hospitality, service and had an overall great experience at our place. See you again in Paihia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 527 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the first stop on our N.Z. trip and it was wonderful. Ed and Inge are so friendly and helpful, booking trips, dining reservations and offering information. Our room was comfortable, spotless with plenty of closet space and gorgeous view. There was a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities, so you could have an early morning brew and go take a walk or exercise to work up an appetite for the meal you wouldn't want to miss. Breakfast was a feast!! The location was just a short walk from numerous restaurants, on Marsden Road which follows the coastline. We enjoyed everything about our 4 night stay, and although never had time to use the spa, it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fromsnowto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Hope you enjoyed your trip around our beautiful country. Perhaps see you again in sunny Paihia?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

this place has it all. Location, comfort, views and even goats in the back paddock. The owners are present and very helpful with suggestions, local knowledge and even booking tours for me. Breakfast caters for every taste. Nothing better than a swim and relax in the spa at the end of a long day. I will return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

It was lovely meeting you and to be able to assist you with some suggestions on things to do and see in town. If you ever come back our way we'd love to have you staying with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed two nights and wished we had booked longer. We stayed in the Romantica Suite which is the top of the house. We cannot fault the service and overall experience. The web site is quite accurate but I don't think it shows the hammock that I enjoyed one afternoon. The lounge is most comfortable and the whole place is well furnished. The breakfast table is a picture and the food is just superb. The host is a delight and so helpful. In our trip round both islands we stayed in many good places thanks to Tripadvisor but this was easily the best B and B. The view is wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CharlesLesleySmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. Glade you also enjoyed our hammock!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We just spent six nights at the Chalet Romantica. Our booking was originally for three nights, but it was so perfect that we extended it. The rooms were so well appointed, everything you could possibly need and all with a superb view over the Bay. Breakfast was a highlight; fruit, yoghurt, cereals, cooked breakfast, freshly baked bread, croissants.
Our hosts, Inga and Eddie, booked our trips and were able to suggest various walks and places to visit. This really is a superb place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

So glade you extended your stay with us. You could have stayed forever!! You were such lovely guests and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We, unfortunately, could only spend one night at Chalet Romantica, and that is decidedly our loss.
Inge made us so very welcome it was almost like coming home.It was a pity we did not get to meet Eddie.Maybe next time! Everything we needed was already provided and everything was of the best quality. WiFi is freely available. Our suite could not have been more comfortable The balcony had wonderful views and even a washing line with pegs. We also had the use of the Spa Suite which has a small swimming pool with hydrojet, and a hot tub spa - this is completely private for a couple or group and is signaled as in use by a window blind. The Breakfast was wonderful, everything one could wish for was provided. We would not hesitate to recommend this amazing B&B and would give it 10 out of 10
Sybil and Martin. Adelaide. 21-02-13

Room Tip: We had asked for twin beds and the room we were given was named the Bellvue Suite and was perfect. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Topper55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Next time you have to stay with us longer and meet Eddie. So happy you enjoyed your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was our second visit to Chalet Romantica and Inge was even more welcoming and helpful than ever. This is a superb B&B and Inge provides a lavish array of breakfast choices overlooking the fantastic Bay of Islands at Pahia. Inge is also a source of good local knowledge about what is on and available as well as where to go and what to see. What more do you need from a well run B&B. This is highly recommended and the rooms have everything you can think of to assist with your stay. Congratulations to Chalet Romantica - They made our first 3 nights in NZ a real joy. Chris & Liz A - West Sussex UK

Room Tip: The front facing rooms have a superb view over the bay and a private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Really happy you enjoyed our breakfasts. We believe it is an important part of an overall experience when staying at a B&B. Hopefully see you a 3rd time in our lovely country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.8 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.6 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: $138 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing