We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Pahia”
Review of Chalet Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Romantica
Ranked #2 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lenexa, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The best of Pahia”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was our first trip to Pahia and our hosts, Eddie and Inge, made us feel most welcome. Our room was beautiful, exceptionally clean and comfortable. We had a lovely balcony with views of the bay. Breakfast was like a 5 star restaurant with a personal touch. Our hosts made sure we found the best restaurants in town and the best tours of the bay. What a delightful experience! Thank you for making our 25th anniversary so special! Betty and Peter

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We both enjoyed very much the chats we have had with you. Hope you were able to find and take home a piece of New Zealand artwork.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
449
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights in this B&B, The views ,room, breakfast were all excellent.
Inge you were so kind to us and could not of been more helpfull,
All the little touches you have added to the room and breakfast are so special.

We will certainly reccomend you and if we come back to Paihia we will be back to stay.

Thank you Inge and Eddie for letting us stay in your home

Ann and Maurice

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
You were a delight to have! Enjoy the last few days with your son and see you again at your next visit to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had a lovely stay at this gorgeous BnB. The friendliest and warmest hospitality and service we have received in New Zealand ever. The room was wonderful, the view from the hill is amazing and the hosts are the most helpful and warm people we have met in a long time. Thank you so much! We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Manager at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It was a really nice to have you both staying! People like you make it pleasure running a place like our's. Hope to see you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Wonderful B&B - the best we have ever stayed at, and we have had extensive experience in B&B's in the UK. It was luxurious after coming off a long flight from Canada. Fabulous view of the Bay of Islands, immaculate presentation, excellent breakfast and very courteous and helpful hosts. We could not think of any way our stay could have been improved. Thank you Inge.
Julie and cliff

Room Tip: We loved the top attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieandcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive responds. It's much appreciated. We enjoyed our chats with you. Who knows we may spot you on one of the ski slopes in Europe!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after our wedding. Everything about the stay was great. Brilliant views, rooms, location, meals, spa/pool, but the best part was the service. Inge you were the best host, it would be hard to find someone so kind and helpful. Thank you, Ben and Jess.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benandjess_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you both! Would love to have you again on one of your wedding anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here during the christmas days and we were perfectly happy! We had everything we needed: a very nice, big and clean room with a kitchenette, a balkony and a panoramic view. The breakfast was extensive and served in their very nice and comfortable dining room. The Chalet is a few-minute walk to the restaurants. The hosts Inge and Eddie really cared about us from the begining to the end of our stay. Two great people that we will remember!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Really happy to receive your review and to learn that you arrived home safely. Would love to see you again next time when you travel to New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here the last 4 nights of our 3 week NZ honeymoon, and it was the *perfect* ending to our trip. We stayed in the Romantique room, which was very large compared to other B&B rooms we've previously stayed in, with fantastic water views. (The space was bigger than some studio apartments I've seen.)

Our room had a kitchenette with micro, fridge, and kettle. One caveat- there's a fair number of stairs up to this room- wasn't an issue for us, but could be for other travelers. The Chalet is a 5-minute walk to the water/restaurants-just be aware that the driveway is steep (good exercise coming back!)

Breakfasts were extensive, with a great variety of food (book in advance and it's a little less expensive.) Nice, private spa and pool. Free Wifi. A lot of nice little touches throughout. Very clean.

The care and comfort of her guests is *very* important to Inge. Her recommendations for dining and activities were spot on, and we really enjoyed our time talking with her. She's one of those wonderful people that you meet in your travels and will remember years from now.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwhine21224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inge A, Owner at Chalet Romantica, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It was such a pleasure to meet you both and to provide a pleasant stay for this very special time in your lives. We wish you both all the best for now and your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paihia
0.2 mi away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#5 of 43 in Paihia
451 reviews
2.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
5.3 mi away
Morepork Riverside Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Admiral's View Lodge & Motel
4.0 mi away
Appledore Lodge
Appledore Lodge
#4 of 20 in Paihia
244 reviews
2.0 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Romantica

Property: Chalet Romantica
Address: 6 Bedggood Close, Paihia 0200, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chalet Romantica 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourself and experience the magic of Chalet Romantica. Each upstairs room has its own balcony with superb seaviews, quality furnishings and fittings, free wifi & extra comfy beds. One room is on the ground floor and has garden views. Indoor pool, spa & gym Central town location within a stroll to all amenities, Dolphin - Bay cruise departure piers & beaches. Friendly hosts with a wealth of local knowledge love to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chalet Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Romantica Hotel Paihia
Chalet Romantica Paihia, Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing